The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2020, 06:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,400
Batting Out of Order question

On a test I saw recently, this was one of the questions. NFHS Rules.

The batting order reads: Abel, Baker, Charles, Daniel, Edward, etc.
With no outs it is Abelís turn to bat but Charles erroneously bats and hits a double.
Abel and Baker both strikeout. It is Charles turn to bat but the defensive team informs the umpire that Charles is on second base.

These are the choices for answers. (Check all the apply) *
__Charles is out.
__Charles remains on second base and the proper batter is daniel.
__Charles is removed from second base and is brought in to bat.
__Abel is out.
__Baker is out.
__No one is out.

In addition to Charles remaining on base,
the correct answer says "No one is out".
Do you know why Abel and Baker would not be out?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2020, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,336
Because once a pitch was thrown to Abel, that made Charles's at bat legal and Daniel should have been the proper batter. After Able had completed their at bat and a pitch was thrown to Baker, that then made Abel's at bat legal and reset the batting order again making Baker the correct batter. Abel and Baker are not out because by rule their at bats became legal once a pitch had been thrown to another batter.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2020, 07:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Because once a pitch was thrown to Abel, that made Charles's at bat legal and Daniel should have been the proper batter. After Able had completed their at bat and a pitch was thrown to Baker, that then made Abel's at bat legal and reset the batting order again making Baker the correct batter. Abel and Baker are not out because by rule their at bats became legal once a pitch had been thrown to another batter.
Except they were out in their at bats, legally. "Abel and Baker both strikeout"
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2020, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 686
You're reading too much into it. Nobody is additionally out for BOO. Charles remains at second, Daniel is the proper batter, 2 outs.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 23, 2020, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
You're reading too much into it. Nobody is additionally out for BOO. Charles remains at second, Daniel is the proper batter, 2 outs.
That is what I would say, it's the test scoring that says a difference.

In addition to Charles remaining on base,
the correct answer says "No one is out".
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 23, 2020, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
That is what I would say, it's the test scoring that says a difference.

In addition to Charles remaining on base,
the correct answer says "No one is out".
I'll assume they mean no one is out as a result of the appeal to the BOO.

What kind of test gives the option of "picking all that apply"? I don't recall ever seeing that in either ASA/USA or NFHS.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball

Last edited by Tru_in_Blu; Mon Mar 23, 2020 at 08:48am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 23, 2020, 12:01pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
What kind of test gives the option of "picking all that apply"? I don't recall ever seeing that in either ASA/USA or NFHS.
Definitely not a "true" NFHS Test question. Those I've taken have all entailed single choice answers, to include ones that would say, for example, "A and B are correct".

Perhaps this was a local association's test using NFHS rules.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 24, 2020, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
That is what I would say, it's the test scoring that says a difference.

In addition to Charles remaining on base,
the correct answer says "No one is out".
This was my point. Nobody is additionally out for BOO.

It's a poorly worded question. There's no reason to argue that here. The correct (real world) ruling is obvious.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 25, 2020, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
This was my point. Nobody is additionally out for BOO.

It's a poorly worded question. There's no reason to argue that here. The correct (real world) ruling is obvious.
Meh. When the defense appeals (by pointing out the next batter in the order is on second base) the ruling is that Charlie remains on 2nd, Daniel is the next batter, and no-one is out. QED.

Regardless of prior chaos, in ruling on a BOO appeal, we determine who was the proper batter and if said batter is out for not batting in the proper order. If the next batter (who follows the proper batter) is on base, that batter is skipped.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 27, 2020, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,400
I confirmed what we thought with a UIC type and 2 outs from the strikeouts is correct, both NFHS and USA.

That test had some other semantics, but no need to discuss further.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batting out of Order gwood86 Baseball 10 Fri Jun 12, 2015 07:27am
A Batting Out of Order Question cookie Baseball 30 Mon Sep 27, 2010 06:52pm
Another batting out of order question 505 ump Baseball 3 Thu Jul 02, 2009 04:03pm
Batting Out of Order? Paul L Softball 3 Tue Mar 13, 2007 08:29am
Another Batting out of Order Question justmom Softball 8 Wed May 31, 2006 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1