The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 26, 2019, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,384
USA Pool Play

Some parts of this rule are still vague.
I think this is just a mistake, but an umpire said that in pool play, the FLEX also has to leave the field when the DP plays defense for someone else.
Is there any way that is true?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 26, 2019, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Some parts of this rule are still vague.
I think this is just a mistake, but an umpire said that in pool play, the FLEX also has to leave the field when the DP plays defense for someone else.
Is there any way that is true?
Just replying from memory here - rules book out in the car.

If the FLEX leaves, then essentially the DP has replaced the FLEX and the lineup goes from X to X-1.

Teams have the option to bat everyone, some, or utilize the DP/FLEX. There are no rule changes for DP/FLEX usage in pool play that I'm aware of.

Ask the umpire "that said" to provide proof. Unlikely s/he will be able to.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 26, 2019, 10:07am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
I think this is just a mistake, but an umpire said that in pool play, the FLEX also has to leave the field when the DP plays defense for someone else.
Umm, nope. There is nothing in the pool play rules that changes the fact that both the DP and FLEX can play defense simultaneously.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 26, 2019, 06:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,384
OK, thought so, probably just not said clearly.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 29, 2019, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
I think this is just a mistake, but an umpire said that in pool play, the FLEX also has to leave the field when the DP plays defense for someone else.
Is there any way that is true?
This is never true, in any code.

Mental reminders for DP/FLEX:

1) The FLEX used to be called the DEFO. While this abbreviation is outdated and "not always true", its value exists in reminding us that if the FLEX's team in on defense, the FLEX must be out in the field; else, the FLEX has left the game. Instead of thinking of this position as "defense only", I remember it as "Defense Always."

2a) Assuming 10 players in the order, any nine of the ten can play defense at anytime. In pool play with 20 players in the order, any nine of those twenty can play defense. Remembering #1 above, if the FLEX isn't one of those nine playing defense, the FLEX has left the game.

2b) In pool play, it is possible that neither the DP nor the FLEX are playing defense at a given point. In this scenario, the FLEX has left the game. The DP has not.

3) The top 9 in the lineup bat in order...or in Pool Play, the top (X minus 1) bat in order. No matter how many people there are in the order, if the FLEX bats, it must be in the spot in the order where the person listed on the starting lineup as DP is batting. It does not matter where that person last played defense, or if that person has been substituted for. If the lineup was accepted with the DP in the #6 spot, the FLEX can only bat in the #6 spot.

4) If the FLEX bats for the DP, the DP has left the game. If the FLEX runs for the DP, the DP has left the game. If anyone other than the FLEX bats or runs for the DP, that player has left the game, but the role of the DP is still active.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 01, 2019, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 955
The only difference in pool play is if you bat more then 9 the FLEX is in the last spot in the lineup, not the 10th spot.

That is the only difference.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JO pool play EP CecilOne Softball 19 Mon Apr 22, 2019 12:59pm
Pigskin Pool mwalker13004 Basketball 3 Fri Aug 19, 2005 06:15pm
New Pool 2 - The Sequel.. Just Curious Basketball 2 Mon Feb 07, 2005 10:09am
New Pool Just Curious Basketball 1 Fri Dec 31, 2004 03:18am
New Pool Just Curious Softball 0 Thu Dec 30, 2004 11:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1