![]() |
|
|
|||
It took me a while to find time to read and reread this, but now. This applies to the OP, not to any added plays and tangents.
1) There is no interference by the BR in the OP video. She was past the fielder before the fielder began to move to her right. 2) As unlikely as I am to disagree with Big Slick, even with the Dick West ref., I still believe the out occurs at contact with the bat. A batted ball can become many things, fair, foul, caught, not caught, in play, out of play, etc. All of those are determined by the force, angle and spin given the ball by the bat; including reacting to wind conditions, rocks on the field, slopes on the field and anything else present. The fair/foul and other analogies above reinforce this view. 3) If there had actually been INT by the retired BR, R1 would be ruled out.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
#2 I think we now have "clarifications" on this. The out occurs once the ball status is determined despite the force, angle and spin given the ball by the bat; including reacting to wind conditions, rocks on the field, slopes on the field and anything else present. #3 I think this is flat out incorrect. You may be confusing this with a runner on third base who interferes with a fielder attempting to catch a batted fly ball. USA Softball & NFHS differ slightly on this one. If the ball is fair and uncaught, both have batter out along w/ interfering runner. If the ball is foul, USA Softball has both out but NFHS has only runner out and if ball is not caught, a strike on the batter (with less than 2 strikes).
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball Last edited by Tru_in_Blu; Mon Jul 01, 2019 at 09:56am. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
That of course, would make #3 incorrect for you as it is based on INT after the BR is out as in my #2. It all depends on the interpretation of the IFR and judgment of the BR-F3 action; and we disagree on both. I am not confusing this with 2 outs on a fly ball; just R1 "closest to home" after an out by the retired BR; IF INT had been ruled and the IFR rule puts the BR out before the INT call.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
You make the Call | iowasoftballump | Softball | 12 | Tue Jun 17, 2008 03:12pm |
What call would you make? | RANCHMAN | Basketball | 29 | Sat May 31, 2008 02:02am |
Make the Call ...... | Ref Daddy | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:39pm |
You make the call! | Trojans73 | Baseball | 7 | Thu Apr 17, 2003 03:53pm |
What call would you make? | Gre144 | Baseball | 9 | Fri May 18, 2001 02:21pm |