![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
The test question is from USA. But the NCAA language creates the same problem. The runner did not miss the base. She abandoned her baserunning responsibilities. Let's just change this test question and take it deeply into dream land. Both teams had lost track of the inning and it's only the bottom of the 6th. The "winning" (go-ahead) run comes in to score. The players from the bases come in to celebrate with her touching home plate. No one appeals anything. The chaos settles with both teams heading to their dugouts. Do those runs score (the runner from first just missed 2nd and 3rd) or do we have abandonment and call them out when they get into the dugout in which case no appeal would be necessary and the order they enter the dugout would decide whether the first run scored? To put it another way, there are two things I'm struggling with in this question. How does the ball become dead for a dead ball appeal and second how does one appeal that a runner ran from first to home instead of first to second? |
|
|||
Quote:
Your two questions are good. I'll have to dig out my USA books and see what I find.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't do NCAA, so can't speak to that. From USA/NFHS perspective, in the first part, I would likely confer with a partner regarding abandonment. In the crush of players, it might be very confusing to determine which of the runners from second or first base or the BR entered the dugout area in which order. I would likely rule R2 and R3 out for abandonment while R1's run would count. In the second part, who said the ball ever becomes dead? If the defense is aware enough and makes live ball appeals in the proper order, the run could be taken off the board. I still have a live ball waiting for somebody to do something. If nobody does anything except enter the dugouts, I've got the abandonment call(s). Closest thing I had to this was a HS freshman game. With 1 out and a runner on third, the batter hit a fly ball to the outfield. The offensive coach was coaching third base and thought there were 2 outs. When the ball was hit, she was yelling at the runner at third to go home. The runner thought (correctly) that there was only 1 out and was planning to tag up. But the coach confused her, she dawdled between third and home. When the catch was made, the coach, thinking it was the third out simply ran off the field to the first base dugout. Her confused runner followed, not touching the plate. When the runner entered the dugout, we called her out for abandonment. Had she touched the plate, we would have had to wait for an appeal, because she never did tag up properly.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
[QUOTE=True_in_Blue
In the second part, who said the ball ever becomes dead? [/QUOTE] The answer that is accepted on the exam is that "this is a correct dead ball appeal". So I have the same question as youngump, "How does the ball become dead?" Knowing that some runners, especially the BR, had not advanced ot their base, I would have left the ball "live" and not made a call on dead ball appeals, since we were in a live ball situation. But the test gives credit for the dead ball appeal answer. So in the words of youngump, How does the ball become dead in this situation? |
|
|||
Quote:
See RS#1, B & C.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
But suppose the ball becomes inadvertently dead; F1 wants to appeal and she wants to make dead ball appeals so she asks for time. Your partner grants it much to your chagrin. Now the ball is dead. You can't give the defense the chance to appeal until the offense has had sufficient time, but I think we can cede that they already had it and accept the appeals. But again, I'm stuck on what you're appealing. Not running the bases is not one of the listed types of appeals. And neither the BR nor the runner at first ever got remotely close to missing a base. They just didn't run the bases. |
|
|||
Quote:
But if the runners and BR are celebrating at home, I will assume they've been given time to fulfill their base running duties. Then, if a fielder without the ball says they want to appeal, we would call time out and rule on the appeal. For the runner at first, she went home without touching second (or third) and can be ruled out for missing a base. The BR who never reached first, can be ruled out for missing first. And the order in which the appeals are made would impact whether the run would score or not.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
Let's say this is a tournament where score differential will determine seeding. And there is also a runner on second who does the same dumb trick. The defense gets the ball and appeals that the batter runner missed first. So you now have two outs. Then they say the runner from second missed third so you have 3 outs. Most of the defense is already off the field and as soon as you call the third out the last defenders run off. The scorekeeper then asks you if the run counts. Are you seriously going to tell her that it does, and ALSO the runner from first who came in to celebrate scores so the home team wins by 2? I'm not, she has to touch all 4 bases or approximate it well enough to be considered to have missed the base to score a run. She's guilty of abandonment not finding a shortcut to scoring. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Bottom 7th, home team at bat trailing by a run.
Bases loaded, batter hits an over the fence home run. Home team wins by 3 runs. Bases loaded, batter hits a gap shot to the outfield that has no fence. Runners score from third and second. Home team wins by 1 run. Once the winning run crosses the plate, the game is over. I'm sure some score keeping parent will log the gap shot as a grand slam with 4 RBIs, but I don't think it's right.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
2019 USA Umpire Exam | Tru_in_Blu | Softball | 2 | Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:11pm |
Exam question: Please help I'm stumped. | Bchill24 | Basketball | 4 | Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:25pm |
ASA Umpires Exam, Question 54 | VaASAump | Softball | 2 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 05:10pm |
Exam #1 question | zac | Basketball | 14 | Thu Oct 03, 2002 03:00am |
Question 101 on NF exam | Tim Roden | Basketball | 4 | Wed Nov 08, 2000 11:33am |