The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2018, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Another case of one UIC wanting one thing and a different wanting something else. Last national school I went to we were told to give a swoosh signal or whatever you want to call it if the defebder was off the bag. The only difference was, our state staff had initially told us to give the off the bag signal first and then give the safe signal, otherwise they felt it looked like making an excuse for the safe call. National staff told us they wanted the safe signal first and then the off the bag signal and announcement.
Odd that a national camp staff would give you advice on a non-approved signal (tongue firmly in cheek). FWIW, any additional signal, whether point or anything else, should be given before the out/safe signal in any case, IMO. I agree that any signal after the out/safe does in fact look like an "excuse" signal. Always finish with a textbook out/safe.

I love how threads diverge on this forum. It speaks to the depth of our avocation. To go back to a comment made on my original situation (missed tag at 2B, followed by an overslide): What is the preferred mechanic here? I waited until the whole play finished before signalling. Anyone prefer a "no-tag" signal (maybe with a point) earlier in the overslide? ... Or does this risk a double-signal safe-out?!
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2018, 08:06am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 766
Old School

In a recent basketball thread, someone quoted J. Dallas Shirley: "Never say never and never say always."
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2018, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,247
I've come to regard the "hula swoosh" in the same light as the baseball called strike.

When I see someone do it, I think they must be baseball guys. Depending upon my relationship with said partners, I might ask them about it after the game.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2018, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
When I see someone do it, I think they must be baseball guys. Depending upon my relationship with said partners, I might ask them about it after the game.
And I think more of a football official
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2018, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
To go back to a comment made on my original situation (missed tag at 2B, followed by an overslide): What is the preferred mechanic here? I waited until the whole play finished before signalling. Anyone prefer a "no-tag" signal (maybe with a point) earlier in the overslide? ... Or does this risk a double-signal safe-out?!
Let a continuous play finish until there is a resolution and only then make your call. I do not believe you can compare it to the missed plate/missed tag mechanics (assuming that lack of continuous action) as once that runner scores, they are no longer a runner and an appeal is required, live or dead.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2018, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Another case of one UIC wanting one thing and a different wanting something else. Last national school I went to we were told to give a swoosh signal or whatever you want to call it if the defebder was off the bag. The only difference was, our state staff had initially told us to give the off the bag signal first and then give the safe signal, otherwise they felt it looked like making an excuse for the safe call. National staff told us they wanted the safe signal first and then the off the bag signal and announcement.
This didn't use to happen, but has devolved over the years. IMO, many more "instructors" have been carrying personal preference into the clinics and tournaments as opposed to the prescribed mechanics.

And I'm still checking the manual for an "off the bag" signal
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2018, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
And I'm still checking the manual for an "off the bag" signal
I see your smilie. But if anyone is wondering about the actual wording in the manual, it's this:

c. After obtaining your angle on the play at 1B and there is a possible
pulled foot, move with the play to keep an unobstructed view. A
slight adjustment can put you in a better position to see the foot off
the base. If the fielder pulls their foot, point with your left hand and
say “OFF THE BASE” and give a strong “safe” signal and a clear
“SAFE” call.


No "hula swoosh" need apply...
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2018, 12:46pm
Retired but coaching
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Let a continuous play finish until there is a resolution and only then make your call. I do not believe you can compare it to the missed plate/missed tag mechanics (assuming that lack of continuous action) as once that runner scores, they are no longer a runner and an appeal is required, live or dead.
I can't believe this thread is making me come out of lurking mode.

Everyone is safe until I called them out. Safe means they still have a possibility of being out (stepping/falling off the bag) so i delay it slightly longer than my out call (which I am sure of when I make it).

I had a habit (from the 80s) where I would shake my head "no" during swipe tags that missed, but I didn't do safe calls until the runner holds the bag (even the continuous tagging by the fielder to an unbalanced runner - unless pushed off).

I also visit Hawaii but I don't dance. I will give a small sweep to help "sell" that I know exactly what happened so I am clear to coaches and fans who can't hear what I say during crowd roars.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2018, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Helmet View Post
I will give a small sweep to help "sell" that I know exactly what happened so I am clear to coaches and fans who can't hear what I say during crowd roars.
"Hula Swoosher!"
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2018, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Does anyone also have a GESTURE for "runner beat it"; the other way of being safe?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2018, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
Maybe I've never been called out on it because I don't do a full Hula Swoosh. My signal is a "push" away from the base, not a giant sweep. (People who have worked with me can let me know if this signal is bigger than I think it is....Andy, I'm looking at you.) ............
I remember that you had a couple of these calls this past weekend, but I don't recall any signals or gestures that I thought were concerning. I actually remember you using the point, but don't recall anything else.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2018, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
I remember that you had a couple of these calls this past weekend, but I don't recall any signals or gestures that I thought were concerning. I actually remember you using the point, but don't recall anything else.
BREAKING NEWS!

Teebob gets the point.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2018, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
BREAKING NEWS!

Teebob gets the point.
??? What are you saying?

Edit: Ah. [golfclap] Well played. Excellent pun, sir.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Imaginary" 3 foot restraining line? NFHS Throw Ins CO REF Basketball 19 Wed Jan 04, 2017 12:20pm
Umpire: "No More." Coach: "OK.....chirp chirp" - Toss or ignore? teebob21 Softball 19 Sun Sep 25, 2016 08:41pm
2016 NCAA Rule Change: OBS - "About to Receive" vs. "In the act of Catching" teebob21 Softball 15 Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:16pm
OK, the second reason for the "division line" is.... CMHCoachNRef Basketball 16 Sun Jan 11, 2009 01:15pm
"First" Molalla incident finally over Mark Padgett Basketball 0 Sat May 03, 2008 10:10am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1