The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2018, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
A batter-runner is not a runner.

Breaking up a DP: if the interference is by a runner not yet retired, the trailing runner is also out. If by a retired runner, the runner closest to home is also out (which could end up being a trailing runner).

Assume for our purposes that the runner IS trying to break up a DP (because I told you so).
Which runner and how?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2018, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
OK, let's actually do the math. Assume this is for JO play.

Base distance is 60 feet.

Running lane starts half way from HP to first, so 60 / 2 = 30 feet.

Scenario I posted: 20 feet from HP means runner hasn't reached the running lane yet (i.e. 10 feet short); 40 feet from HP means runner has gone 10 feet beyond where the running lane starts.

If the batter runner is running in foul territory the entire time and gets plunked with a throw from F2 standing at HP, does it matter if the BR has reached the 30 foot mark or not?
Correct, I was thinking 40 feet from 1st, why I don't know.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2018, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,002
USA 8.2.F When the BR interferes:
3. With a thrown ball while out of the batter's box.

NOTE: If this interference is an attempt to break up a double play, the runner closest to home plate shall be called out.

Since the lead runner has been retired, and the BR then interferes with the thrown ball, at this point we have INT and an immediate dead ball.

If we then apply the penalty, who is the runner closest to home plate? NOT the retired runner, right? Who's next? R2?

Just reading the rule and trying to apply as written.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2018, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Which runner and how?
The batter-runner running to first base the entire way in fair territory.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2018, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 101
The rule as written (the Note in 8.2.F) does state the runner closest to home is out. In your scenario that would be R2 because R1 has already scored and presumably R2 is still running the bases. But its also hard to imagine in your scenario that a batter-runner hit in the back while running to first is attempting to break up a double play.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2018, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
The batter-runner running to first base the entire way in fair territory.
And other than with the defender receiving the throw at first (assuming s/he had reached the lane), what play did the retired BR interfere?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2018, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by josephrt1 View Post
The rule as written (the Note in 8.2.F) does state the runner closest to home is out. In your scenario that would be R2 because R1 has already scored and presumably R2 is still running the bases. But its also hard to imagine in your scenario that a batter-runner hit in the back while running to first is attempting to break up a double play.
OK, Joseph, your imagining gene needs a little tweaking. For your purposes only, IMAGINE that the BR while 34.5 feet from HP actually looks back towards HP and sees F2 throwing to F3 in an attempt to retire B4 at first base. In an effort to prevent the apparent DP, B4 swats the ball to the ground.

Also, R1 did not score, she was out on the force play at HP.

Now, please apply the appropriate rule(s).
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball

Last edited by Tru_in_Blu; Wed Feb 07, 2018 at 10:15am. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2018, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
And other than with the defender receiving the throw at first (assuming s/he had reached the lane), what play did the retired BR interfere?
Just the play at first base. And the BR is not considered retired until such time as the umpire declares the INT and calls a dead ball.

Now the rule for BR interference doesn't specify that the act be intentional. Although I can accept that an action that is an attempt to break up a DP could involve an intentional act.

In any case, if you are the umpire in this case, and in your judgement you maintain that whatever the act was on the part of the BR was an attempt to prevent the DP, how do you rule?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2018, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Just the play at first base. And the BR is not considered retired until such time as the umpire declares the INT and calls a dead ball.

Now the rule for BR interference doesn't specify that the act be intentional. Although I can accept that an action that is an attempt to break up a DP could involve an intentional act.

In any case, if you are the umpire in this case, and in your judgement you maintain that whatever the act was on the part of the BR was an attempt to prevent the DP, how do you rule?
You are asking me to make a ruling on a TWP. Given the scenario, there is no possibility of another out.

IMO, you are trying to read too much into this rule.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2018, 06:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Given the scenario, there is no possibility of another out.
I bet you could sell it!
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2018, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 632
I might be able to sell ice to an Eskimo, but there's no rule support.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case Play xmj Basketball 7 Tue May 20, 2014 04:34pm
Case book play question ChickenOfNC Football 1 Wed Sep 29, 2010 09:04am
Question concerning a case book play chseagle Basketball 14 Wed Dec 30, 2009 07:42pm
Need a case play. varefump Volleyball 5 Thu Oct 11, 2007 08:57am
Case Play ejstuart Soccer 3 Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1