The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2017, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
... and even if F1 is bowling a perfect strike across the plate, F2 won't be called for CO if she jumps forward to grab it and prevent the steal at home...

... and if Batter reaches the bat out to poke the ball in play (during F2's attempt to field it), it's a batted pitch, not INT...

and if, and if...
I would have to look for it, but there is a case play or rule clarification about a catcher stepping out in front of the plate and picking up the pitch before the batter has a chance to strike at it. If it is rolling toward the plate the catcher must let it continue to roll until it reaches the plate. If it is obvious the ball has no chance of reaching the plate or is rolling toward one of the dugouts, then the catcher can go get it without penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2017, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
, then the catcher can go get it without penalty.
Or any other fielder.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2017, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
I would have to look for it, but there is a case play or rule clarification about a catcher stepping out in front of the plate and picking up the pitch before the batter has a chance to strike at it. If it is rolling toward the plate the catcher must let it continue to roll until it reaches the plate. If it is obvious the ball has no chance of reaching the plate or is rolling toward one of the dugouts, then the catcher can go get it without penalty.
I'd wager not many catchers would know that rule nor would batters. Add coaches and parents while we're at it. And probably half your partners.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 28, 2017, 04:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Rule Clarification March 2009

Rule 6 Fast Pitch: There have been a few questions in regards to the new rule in Fast Pitch regarding the use of the Gorilla Gold product recently approved by the ASA Council. The question is, “Can the Gorilla Gold product be left on the ground if the pitcher does not have a pocket to put it in?” The new rule is clear according to Rule 6 (Fast Pitch) Section 6 ….an approved drying agent may be used by the pitcher that is included in the list published by the ASA. The resin must be left on the ground and the approved drying agent in the pitcher pocket.” If there is no pocket the drying agent cannot be left on the ground and must be left in the dugout.
Rule 8 or Rule 6 FP: R1 is on 2B with 1 out. F1 delivers the ball that slips from the hand and is rolling towards HP. R1 decides to steal 3B and F2 steps out in front of the plate and retrieves the ball and throws out R1 at 3B. Ruling?
This play is a little vague so I will answer it in two ways. If the pitcher delivers a pitch that somewhat slips from the hand but still can be hit by the batter then Rule 8 Section1D [3] applies and as the rule states if the catcher steps on or in front of home plate without the ball and PREVENTS the batter from hitting the ball Effect: Dead ball, the batter is awarded first base and runners are advanced one base if forced. In this play R1 on 2B returns to 2B unless 1B was occupied
If the pitch cannot be hit because the ball slipped from the pitchers hand and the move by the catcher does not prevent the batter from hitting the ball then Rule 6 section 11 “If the ball slips from the pitcher’s hand during the delivery, a ball is called on the batter, the ball would remain live and the runner(s) may advance at their own risk” would apply and we would have a ball on the batter and all runners may advance at their own risk. In this play R1 would be out
Therefore in this play the key here is that the umpire has to determine if the pitch can still be hit by the batter and did the action of the catcher prevent the batter from hitting the ball, or did the pitch slip in such a way that it cannot be hit and apply the correct rule, Rule 8 or Rule 6
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pitcher rolls ball from glove to hand Little Jimmy Softball 3 Sun May 05, 2013 10:27am
"The hand is considered part of the ball when the hand is in contact with the ball mendi Basketball 22 Fri Nov 13, 2009 08:04pm
Inbounder slips Coach Bill Basketball 3 Fri Nov 23, 2007 01:54pm
Arm Band on Glove hand of pitcher RandyinSac Baseball 10 Thu Jun 02, 2005 12:37am
Timeout hand toward pitcher not PU pfsears Softball 8 Fri Aug 15, 2003 02:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1