| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA  Fishing around about a question on another board and tripped over this.  Just never noticed the ramifications of this change:
 USA Softball
 
 Rule 6A.3
 P. If the ball slips from the pitcher's hand during the delivery
 1. The ball remains live
 2. A ball on the batter
 3. Runners may advance at their own risk
 
 If the batter attempts to hit such a ball, how are you going to call a strike or fair when the rule book specifically has declared the pitch a ball?
 
 Was there an interpretation or amendment I missed?
 |  NFHS allows the pitch if the batter swings at it, ball if no swing or no chance to hit it.  I bet some of us would apply that to USA.
		 
				__________________Officiating takes more than OJT.
 It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
 
				 Last edited by CecilOne; Fri Oct 27, 2017 at 10:02am.
 |