The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Ball slips from pitcher's hand (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/103066-ball-slips-pitchers-hand.html)

IRISHMAFIA Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:55pm

Ball slips from pitcher's hand
 
Fishing around about a question on another board and tripped over this. Just never noticed the ramifications of this change:

USA Softball

Rule 6A.3
P. If the ball slips from the pitcher's hand during the delivery
1. The ball remains live
2. A ball on the batter
3. Runners may advance at their own risk


If the batter attempts to hit such a ball, how are you going to call a strike or fair when the rule book specifically has declared the pitch a ball?

Was there an interpretation or amendment I missed?

RKBUmp Fri Oct 27, 2017 08:12am

I have seen no change in interpretation, and you still have the case play about a pitched ball rolling toward the plate and the catcher stepping out and picking it up before it reaches the plate.

Sounds like they did some editing again to the rule book, like when they inserted the word "entitled" into the rule on a batter running on dropped third strike. The word could really change how the rule is applied, yet there was no change in any of the case plays or in how the rule is to be applied.

CecilOne Fri Oct 27, 2017 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1010702)
Fishing around about a question on another board and tripped over this. Just never noticed the ramifications of this change:

USA Softball

Rule 6A.3
P. If the ball slips from the pitcher's hand during the delivery
1. The ball remains live
2. A ball on the batter
3. Runners may advance at their own risk


If the batter attempts to hit such a ball, how are you going to call a strike or fair when the rule book specifically has declared the pitch a ball?

Was there an interpretation or amendment I missed?

NFHS allows the pitch if the batter swings at it, ball if no swing or no chance to hit it. I bet some of us would apply that to USA.

Manny A Fri Oct 27, 2017 09:59am

This is the exact verbiage that was in the older rule book under 6-A-11 for Dropped Ball. For whatever reason, USA decided to delete that rule and put the language under 6-A-3P instead.

In fact, my 2015 printed book, and a 2008 electronic book I found on the web, say virtually the exact same thing:

2015:
Quote:

Section 11 - DROPPED BALL.
If the ball slips from the pitcher’s hand during the delivery, a ball is declared on the batter, the ball remains live, runners may advance at their own risk.
2008:
Quote:

Section 11. DROPPED BALL.
If the ball slips from the pitcher’s hand during the delivery, a ball is declared on the batter, the ball will remain live and the runner(s) may advance at their own risk.
So there really has been no significant change to the language in the last ten years at least.

jmkupka Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:03am

... and even if F1 is bowling a perfect strike across the plate, F2 won't be called for CO if she jumps forward to grab it and prevent the steal at home...

... and if Batter reaches the bat out to poke the ball in play (during F2's attempt to field it), it's a batted pitch, not INT...

and if, and if... :)

RKBUmp Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1010712)
... and even if F1 is bowling a perfect strike across the plate, F2 won't be called for CO if she jumps forward to grab it and prevent the steal at home...

... and if Batter reaches the bat out to poke the ball in play (during F2's attempt to field it), it's a batted pitch, not INT...

and if, and if... :)

I would have to look for it, but there is a case play or rule clarification about a catcher stepping out in front of the plate and picking up the pitch before the batter has a chance to strike at it. If it is rolling toward the plate the catcher must let it continue to roll until it reaches the plate. If it is obvious the ball has no chance of reaching the plate or is rolling toward one of the dugouts, then the catcher can go get it without penalty.

CecilOne Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 1010713)
, then the catcher can go get it without penalty.

Or any other fielder.

Tru_in_Blu Fri Oct 27, 2017 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 1010713)
I would have to look for it, but there is a case play or rule clarification about a catcher stepping out in front of the plate and picking up the pitch before the batter has a chance to strike at it. If it is rolling toward the plate the catcher must let it continue to roll until it reaches the plate. If it is obvious the ball has no chance of reaching the plate or is rolling toward one of the dugouts, then the catcher can go get it without penalty.

I'd wager not many catchers would know that rule nor would batters. Add coaches and parents while we're at it. And probably half your partners.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Oct 28, 2017 04:38pm

Rule Clarification March 2009

Rule 6 Fast Pitch: There have been a few questions in regards to the new rule in Fast Pitch regarding the use of the Gorilla Gold product recently approved by the ASA Council. The question is, “Can the Gorilla Gold product be left on the ground if the pitcher does not have a pocket to put it in?” The new rule is clear according to Rule 6 (Fast Pitch) Section 6 ….an approved drying agent may be used by the pitcher that is included in the list published by the ASA. The resin must be left on the ground and the approved drying agent in the pitcher pocket.” If there is no pocket the drying agent cannot be left on the ground and must be left in the dugout.
Rule 8 or Rule 6 FP: R1 is on 2B with 1 out. F1 delivers the ball that slips from the hand and is rolling towards HP. R1 decides to steal 3B and F2 steps out in front of the plate and retrieves the ball and throws out R1 at 3B. Ruling?
This play is a little vague so I will answer it in two ways. If the pitcher delivers a pitch that somewhat slips from the hand but still can be hit by the batter then Rule 8 Section1D [3] applies and as the rule states if the catcher steps on or in front of home plate without the ball and PREVENTS the batter from hitting the ball Effect: Dead ball, the batter is awarded first base and runners are advanced one base if forced. In this play R1 on 2B returns to 2B unless 1B was occupied
If the pitch cannot be hit because the ball slipped from the pitchers hand and the move by the catcher does not prevent the batter from hitting the ball then Rule 6 section 11 “If the ball slips from the pitcher’s hand during the delivery, a ball is called on the batter, the ball would remain live and the runner(s) may advance at their own risk” would apply and we would have a ball on the batter and all runners may advance at their own risk. In this play R1 would be out
Therefore in this play the key here is that the umpire has to determine if the pitch can still be hit by the batter and did the action of the catcher prevent the batter from hitting the ball, or did the pitch slip in such a way that it cannot be hit and apply the correct rule, Rule 8 or Rule 6


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1