![]() |
|
|||
|
8-7-E specifically addresses assistance while the ball is live.
The Exception to 8-7-E is a little unclear because it addresses when a runner who has just scored but misses home is assisted back to home; what's not clear about it is if the miss happened during a live ball or a dead one. The Effect says the ball is dead, the runner is out and the run is nullified. But that could very well mean that at the time the assist took place, the ball was live, but the umpire should kill play once the assistance happens. So, is there a USA clarification that says 8-7-E also applies when the ball is dead, such as on a home run?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Appeal at HP | LeeBallanfant | Baseball | 1 | Tue May 26, 2015 08:41am |
| appeal on hr | bellsjc | Baseball | 10 | Tue May 13, 2008 07:53am |
| Do you allow the appeal? | dash_riprock | Baseball | 81 | Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:31am |
| OBR Appeal | tasoump | Baseball | 1 | Tue Jul 02, 2002 02:39pm |
| Appeal | Prince | Baseball | 3 | Fri May 10, 2002 12:03pm |