The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 10, 2017, 07:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
The following play is the reason I bring it up.

https://youtu.be/g_V63kyO37I

A couple problems here with the way it was handled.

If you watch the celebration, the OC does physically direct her back to the plate (0:27). There's no other reason for her to reverse her direction.

That should have been the out (based on your response, Mike).

The tag that F2 put on the BR was with a new game ball the PU gave her (not a valid DB appeal and should have been ignored), HOWEVER,

after F2 makes the tag (and PU properly disallows the appeal), the next logical thing would've been "but blue, she missed the plate!", which WOULD be a proper DB appeal.

Except, in the 1.2 seconds it would take to say that, BR may have made it back to the plate.

Last edited by jmkupka; Mon Jul 10, 2017 at 08:40am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 10, 2017, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
The following play is the reason I bring it up.

https://youtu.be/g_V63kyO37I

A couple problems here with the way it was handled.

If you watch the celebration, the OC does physically direct her back to the plate (0:27). There's no other reason for her to reverse her direction.

That should have been the out (based on your response, Mike).

The tag that F2 put on the BR was with a new game ball the PU gave her (not a valid DB appeal and should have been ignored), HOWEVER,

after F2 makes the tag (and PU properly disallows the appeal), the next logical thing would've been "but blue, she missed the plate!", which WOULD be a proper DB appeal.

Except, in the 1.2 seconds it would take to say that, BR may have made it back to the plate.
That was a college game played under NCAA and it led to a lot of confusion.
NCAA itself chimed in with some half baked response ( in order for the appeal to be granted with a new ball shouldn't the ball first be made live??) and stated that once ball was given to the catcher the appeal was valid.
Which led to even more confusion such as can a runner be called out on an assist when the ball is dead???
And is just handing a new ball to the defense enough to allow an appeal??
Not is baseball and I am pretty sure not in USA softball either.
( The case play listed in the USA rulebook deals with a live ball situation)
So--look for a rule change next year, at least in NCAA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Appeal at HP LeeBallanfant Baseball 1 Tue May 26, 2015 08:41am
appeal on hr bellsjc Baseball 10 Tue May 13, 2008 07:53am
Do you allow the appeal? dash_riprock Baseball 81 Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:31am
OBR Appeal tasoump Baseball 1 Tue Jul 02, 2002 02:39pm
Appeal Prince Baseball 3 Fri May 10, 2002 12:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1