The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 09:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Little Jimmy View Post
Although I've called and signaled the illegal pitch in the same way as tee bob 21 did, I've been told differently this preseason. One of my powers that be said the pitcher can still discontinue the pitch before the hands separate by stepping back off the plate. Fed 6-1-1-f-2 seems to verify. So I've been told proper mechanics in that situation would be to wait until the hands separate before signaling illegal. Thoughts?
6-1-1-f-2 allows the pitcher to disengage assuming she has done nothing illegal. Once the pitcher commits an illegal action, the bell has been rung and cannot be unrung.

Stepping on and immediately bringing the hands together is a point of emphasis in NFHS this year and was featured in the preseason handout. Nowhere in the information does it say anything about the pitcher being able to reset after they have committed an illegal action.

I would also refer you to case play 6-1-1 Situation E, play A. It is an illegal pitch, case play gives no option for the pitcher to reset without penalty.

Last edited by RKBUmp; Sat Mar 18, 2017 at 09:04pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 371
Understand about the emphasis and like that it's being pushed. I'm just passing on what I've been told and opening it up for discussion. I will say that having Fed 6-1-1 a through e being followed immediately by f (describing how the pitcher may legally remove herself) is at the least questionable rule structure on the Feds behalf. I can see how it could be interpreted in different ways.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 371
And...after looking a little closer...and noting that the UIC that discussed this with me is USSSA... USSSA 6-1-D-note says " before the pitch starts, the pitcher may remove them self from the pitching position by stepping back from the pitchers plate with both feet(either foot may be removed first) or by requesting time". Since the pitch begins when the hands separate, Utrip seems to be allowing for the nullification of the potential illegal pitch described in the original post.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Sorry, but no rule set has any option to erase an illegal pitch. Once the pitcher commits an illegal act, the pitch is illegal, there is no fixing it.

The part about removing themselves from the pitching plate only deals with if they have not done anything illegal as yet. Remember, once a pitcher brings the hands together they must deliver a pitch, unless they legally remove themselves prior to the hands separating.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 371
RKBUmp said..."Sorry, but no rule set has any option to erase an illegal pitch. Once the pitcher commits an illegal act, the pitch is illegal, there is no fixing it."

Well, when my state UIC (who has also been a member of the national rules committee) tells me that's the interpretation...then that's the interpretation. At least USSSA wise. Apparently they are adhering to the pitch beginning when the hands separate, even in this case.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
It has absolutely nothing to do with when the pitch starts. The pitcher can commit an illegal act before the pitch ever starts, such as stepping on with hands together, immediately bringing hands together after stepping on, licking fingers and going straight to ball, rubbing dirt on the ball, grinding ball in dirt etc. All illegal acts immediately when they happen. There is no recourse to correct an illegal act once it has been committed. Your UIC is incorrect and he will not be able to show you any case play, clarification or rule support to back his position. Nothing in any rule set give the pitcher the ability to correct an illegal pitch.

Last edited by RKBUmp; Sat Mar 18, 2017 at 10:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 371
Im going to let this one go, but you're telling me that the guy who interprets the rules for USSSA in my state and has been a part of the writing process at the national level for years doesn't know what he's talking about? And even though a national rules committee member(up until this year) says to do it I should simply tell him he's wrong?

I understand what you're saying. But you're not understanding what I'm saying. Time to move on.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Player Procedure Manny A Softball 5 Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:17am
Illegal procedure question MJT Football 5 Sat Nov 20, 2004 01:47pm
When does an leegal pitch BECOME and illegal pitch. Illini_Ref Baseball 4 Fri Apr 23, 2004 02:06pm
Legal Pitch vs. Illegal Pitch ? Deion Softball 15 Mon Jun 30, 2003 04:24pm
QB Shift OK or Illegal Procedure?? BoBo Football 1 Mon Oct 07, 2002 01:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1