The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 15, 2017, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 48
NFHS--Overrunning first

NFHS Rule 8.7.4 e--Although this is listed under the "Look-Back Rule", I assume it would be correct in any instance of overrunning first base? If so, I have never seen this rule enforced. Wonder if anyone else has? Or am I incorrect and this applies only when the pitcher has the ball in the circle?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 15, 2017, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Not sure what violation you feel is not being enforced.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 15, 2017, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
It applies ONLY to the Look Back Rule (so, yes, the pitcher must have the ball in the circle...and all of the other requirements of the LBR must be met).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 15, 2017, 07:28pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
If you mean that a BR who overruns first base, and turns around to her right to return to first, must continue to first base only while the ball is elsewhere other than in the pitcher's possession in the circle, the answer is No.

Say the BR does this after beating out the throw, and as she's returning to first, F3 makes an attempt to throw out a runner going home. The BR can certainly change course to head for second if she wants. She's not committed to returning to first base in that instant, so there is no violation.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 15, 2017, 09:15pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
If you mean that a BR who overruns first base, and turns around to her right to return to first, must continue to first base only while the ball is elsewhere other than in the pitcher's possession in the circle, the answer is No.

Say the BR does this after beating out the throw, and as she's returning to first, F3 makes an attempt to throw out a runner going home. The BR can certainly change course to head for second if she wants. She's not committed to returning to first base in that instant, so there is no violation.

Manny:

There is no requirement that she must turn to her right.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 16, 2017, 06:17am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Manny:

There is no requirement that she must turn to her right.

MTD, Sr.
Mark, I know that. But the OP asked specifically about NFHS rule 8-7-4e, which is the look-back scenario where a BR does turn to her right to return to first base, and whether or not her commitment to first base extends beyond just the look-back rule. That's why my answer addressed just turning right.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 16, 2017, 07:10am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Mark, I know that. But the OP asked specifically about NFHS rule 8-7-4e, which is the look-back scenario where a BR does turn to her right to return to first base, and whether or not her commitment to first base extends beyond just the look-back rule. That's why my answer addressed just turning right.

Manny:

No where in the rule does it mention which way a runner must or should turn. You injected "turns to her right". Which way the runner turns to return to 1B has no bearing upon the rule and how it is applied. What is important with regard to the rule is after the runner has acquired 1B did she make an attempt to advance to 2B. Far too many coaches think that the runner simply turning to her left to return to 1B is an attempt to advance to 2B.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overrunning 1B mrm21711 Baseball 16 Fri Jun 22, 2007 01:52pm
Overrunning First Base Southside Baseball 2 Sun Jun 18, 2006 08:41am
Overrunning 1B - Obstruction IRISHMAFIA Softball 21 Sun Apr 13, 2003 10:07am
Overrunning 1st base CecilOne Softball 16 Wed Apr 09, 2003 09:08pm
ISF / Overrunning 1st Base mach3 Softball 12 Sat Jan 18, 2003 12:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1