Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr
MANNY A, thanks for understanding the question and providing a good answer. When observing a player overrunning first base, I have not paid particular attention to whether or not the pitcher had the ball in the circle. Apparently, the only time the direction of the turn comes into play is under the "Look-Back" rule. Having said that, I do understand (or hope I do) that a player who makes an attempt to go to 2nd base (even if it is a feint) under circumstances other then "Look-Back" is liable to be put out if tagged with the ball by a defensive player.
|
You're putting far too much emphasis on the direction the runner turns. It's irrelevant. The only reason it's included in the description of this play is to make it clear the runner is returning to first and not making a play for 2nd. But direction doesn't matter and this case play would be the same if they turned left but proceeded directly toward 1st.
And NONE of this is relevant at all if LBR is not in play... so no one is ignoring this rule when LBR is not effect --- the rule is not in play if LBR is not in effect.