![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
But we simply cannot generate an out that doesn't exist during a declared dead ball. That's the biggest problem with this situation and suggested solutions.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the ball is live (batted or otherwise) and the BR has the right to advance but has not yet reached 1B: what should we do if an umpire errs and declares the ball dead....due to injury....due to lightning.....due to not knowing the rule? In this ugly circumstance, and absent an interpretation from TPTB, I would award the BR first base. I would also rule that runners could be advanced based on what was likely *at the moment play was killed*. In this case, the R3 was maybe not likely to score *at the moment play was killed*. It's too bad this call was made. It's also a good thing umpires are human...it gives us something to talk about.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
For example, the NCAA SUP (and probably others) has said that an erroneous Foul call cannot be fixed, even if the batter would have easily reached first base on the play. The OP is a unique situation because the ball wasn't declared Foul, so ruling it as Foul does not apply. It would be interesting to get the SUP's take on this.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
I'll stick with Steve's and I think they would also.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
I don't think this is right. If you call time, the play is over and you don't guess at where runners would have gotten too. I don't think it matters if R3 was sliding into home with the ball in the outfield. You cannot score during a dead ball and there's no rule that allows you to award home here. The best I could think you could stretch with is the jeopardy rule. But there you have to be reversing some call.
|
|
|||
|
If you kill a live ball, you do not place runners unless a specific rule tells you to (for example, when an obstructed runner is put out). 95% of the time, the get the base achieved at the moment you killed it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
What would you do with the BR in the OP; who can not be out and is no longer at bat?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
1st base. Always.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Of course, just teasing you about "do not place runners unless a specific rule tells you to ". I should have included
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Lineup Card SNAFU | Manny A | Softball | 15 | Sun Sep 15, 2013 10:53pm |
| Nfhs cr snafu | JEL | Softball | 10 | Tue Sep 06, 2011 03:38pm |
| Scheduling snafu | buckrog64 | Basketball | 5 | Thu Nov 30, 2006 03:05pm |
| Timing snafu | BloggingRefGuy | Basketball | 5 | Sun Oct 22, 2006 07:11pm |
| Scorekeeping snafu | theboys | Basketball | 15 | Tue Mar 04, 2003 10:00pm |