The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 27, 2016, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Pitched ball bounces over backstop.

NFHS game today that I biffed a call on. Ball 4 came in and bounced over the backstop. I called dead ball and awarded batter second base. I knew it was a one base award from time it went out, but I ruled that since it was a walk she should get second. WRONG. Never had this happen before. I missed this one.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 27, 2016, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
"I knew it was a one base award from time it went out, but I ruled that since it was a walk she should get second. WRONG. "
I actually have a question about this.I always assumed it was 1 base from time it left pitcher's hand. I looked it up in the ASA book (8.5.C) and it doesn't state from what point you award the 1 base. Is it from the time the ball left the pitcher's hand or from the time the ball entered dead ball territory or became blocked?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 27, 2016, 08:15pm
High Five Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 669
Bounced over the backstop? Wow!! I've had several nearly go over on the flight of pitch but not even close on a bounce.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 27, 2016, 08:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Never ever saw this before and I have been umpiring over 35 years. Don't know what caused it to bounce so high. NFHS rule says "The batter is awarded first base only on the fourth ball." I believe the reason I got it wrong is because of the rarity of it plus awarding only to first isn't penalizing the defense.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 27, 2016, 09:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
NCAA says "time of pitch"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 28, 2016, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
NCAA says "time of pitch"
ASA & NFHS is one base. If ball 4, BR awarded only 1B
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 28, 2016, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 123
ASA says one base, but it does not state from what time point. For a thrown ball it clearly states 2 bases from runner's position at time ball left fielders hand and for loss of possession it says 1 base from time ball went out of play. But for pitched ball I don't see a starting point defined. Just an observation. I have always gone with 1 base from position at start of the pitch.

Last edited by josephrt1; Sun Aug 28, 2016 at 11:34am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 28, 2016, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
NCAA says if on dropped 3rd strike, if batter is legally advancing, they also get first only.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 28, 2016, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by josephrt1 View Post
asa says one base, but it does not state from what time point. For a thrown ball it clearly states 2 bases from runner's position at time ball left fielders hand and for loss of possession it says 1 base from time ball went out of play. But for pitched ball i don't see a starting point defined. Just an observation. I have always gone with 1 base from position at start of the pitch.
rs #38.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 28, 2016, 08:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 123
Thanks for the help. I missed that.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 29, 2016, 07:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Texas
Posts: 425
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by josephrt1 View Post
Thanks for the help. I missed that.
the good thing is you'll never miss that one again!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 29, 2016, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Indiana
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by josephrt1 View Post
ASA says one base, but it does not state from what time point. For a thrown ball it clearly states 2 bases from runner's position at time ball left fielders hand and for loss of possession it says 1 base from time ball went out of play. But for pitched ball I don't see a starting point defined. Just an observation. I have always gone with 1 base from position at start of the pitch.
All runners would be on base at time of start of pitch. So it would be a known fact. So why would they have to state that in the rule book?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 29, 2016, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 123
First of all, in the original situation the batter was at bat, not on base. What was being questioned was the statement about where the award originated for other runners; from the time of the pitch or from the time the ball went out of play. IRISHMAFIA pointed out that the answer was in the rule supplement #38. For a thrown ball or a loss of possession that go out of play, the details were included in the rule itself, but for a blocked ball on a pitch, the originating point for the award was defined back in the supplement and i missed it.

Last edited by josephrt1; Mon Aug 29, 2016 at 11:20pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball Bounces Back Up Off of Net KCRef Basketball 10 Thu Jun 23, 2011 06:41pm
That ball takes stange bounces dumbref Football 6 Sun Sep 28, 2008 09:51am
Ball hits rubber - bounces kono Softball 28 Thu Apr 17, 2008 07:55am
Pitched ball that bounces Pete in AZ Baseball 21 Mon Aug 07, 2006 02:02pm
Pitched Ball In Backstop Marty Rogers Baseball 9 Wed May 22, 2002 02:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1