![]() |
|
|
|||
But she didn't attempt to advance to second after touching first and 8-8-I gives protection regardless of whether there was an earlier attempt to advance to second.
|
|
|||
consensus
I like to find a consensus in topics, especially one like this with divergent comments on multiple tangents.
It looks like the consensus is that the BR actually does overrun 1st during his pivot, is safe with his hand touch, is out with the foot tag. Also, consensus seems to be no attempt at 2nd; and for purpose of this discussion, ignored the 3 feet off path possibility.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
BTW, a great example if the inconsistency of rules and terms (not to mention interpretations), both within and between books.
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Irish - this is probably the best summary in layman's terms I've seen in the thread. I went back and re-watched the play after realizing I was 5 posts into this thread without seeing it again after my first post. I'll agree that this is an out under 8-7-B.
Youngump - I know you're trying to get me to think through the interpretation with evermore improbable scenarios, which is a good way to logically test the rules. However, I think we're beyond the pale on instances that apply to this play. Cecil - Completely agree on the highlighting of inconsistencies. There are a number of points raised in this thread, and the ASA rules I cited, that could benefit from clarification, such as: - Define "reaches a base": When this term is used in the book, it seems to include passing and touching. - Define "passes a base": What is the point at which a base is considered passed, especially when there is no attempt to advance past it? The consensus seems to be the base line connecting the base in question and the next one, regardless of the direction the runner is moving. Other than common sense (which isn't always applicable ![]() - Define the conditions for a legal overrun at 1B more clearly - Live ball appeal requirements - The Overslide definition Et cetera...
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Out then safe then out... | MatthewPV | Baseball | 13 | Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:23pm |
Safe | SRW | Softball | 25 | Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:03pm |
PU - Out. BU - Safe. | Rich | Baseball | 3 | Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:43am |
OBS - Always safe? | cshs81 | Baseball | 5 | Thu Jun 28, 2007 07:42am |
Safe or out | kab9 | Softball | 12 | Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:56am |