The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 23, 2016, 10:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Hit by pitch, award base or not?

USSSA rules:

Batter assumes her batting stance in the box with her feet just inside the box on the plate side line (very tight to the plate). Her elbows are parallel to the ground extending over home plate several inches.

Pitch comes in and the batter starts to swing, but holds up her swing. In starting her swing, her elbows extend farther over the plate. The ball hits her in the elbow.

Obviously she was hit by the pitch, the question is do you award first base?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2016, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
obviously, not if that elbow was in the strike zone when it was hit... it's a strike.

Aside from that, her motion, while not intentionally trying to get hit, did put the elbow in the path of the pitch, and couldn't be considered "trying to avoid".

Thinking about this at game speed, you'd have a good case for leaving her at bat.

Last edited by jmkupka; Fri Jun 24, 2016 at 09:10am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2016, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
obviously, not if that elbow was in the strike zone when it was hit... it's a strike.

Aside from that, her motion, while not intentionally trying to get hit, did put the elbow in the path of the pitch, and couldn't be considered "trying to avoid".

Thinking about this at game speed, you'd have a good case for leaving her at bat.
You're joking - right.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2016, 09:48am
High Five Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 669
Leave all other thoughts out of it. Only thing you worry about here is if the pitch was in the strike zone. If so, as you stated, it is a dead ball strike.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2016, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
I would have a very hard time awarding 1st on a HBP with a ball that was over the plate. Even if it wasnt a strike, as in high out of the zone, the batter does not belong over the plate.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2016, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
I would have a very hard time awarding 1st on a HBP with a ball that was over the plate. Even if it wasnt a strike, as in high out of the zone, the batter does not belong over the plate.
Batter starts for a high outside pitch,and holds up. It hits her. You're going to make her stay at the plate?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2016, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Batter starts for a high outside pitch,and holds up. It hits her. You're going to make her stay at the plate?
You mean inside right? If a batter gets hit by a pitch that's outside, I'm having real trouble visualizing her getting to 1st.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2016, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 128
Haven't had it happen recently, but ball over the 'river' and batter doesn't move away or steps into it, I don't award the base unless its also ball 4. Over the batter's box, different story. If its over the batter's box in HS or ASA I'm putting the batter on base.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2016, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
USSSA rules:

Batter assumes her batting stance in the box with her feet just inside the box on the plate side line (very tight to the plate). Her elbows are parallel to the ground extending over home plate several inches.

Pitch comes in and the batter starts to swing, but holds up her swing. In starting her swing, her elbows extend farther over the plate. The ball hits her in the elbow.

Obviously she was hit by the pitch, the question is do you award first base?
I don't do USSSA, but isn't it like NFHS? The batter gets first if hit by the ball entirely in the batters box or if hit by the ball outside the strike zone and she made an attempt to avoid getting hit? If so, though I'm having trouble visualizing this outside the strike zone, UJ ball/strike and UJ avoid/not.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 Base Award / Abandoning Base NCASAUmp Softball 20 Tue Jul 06, 2010 07:28am
3 Base Award? BigUmp56 Baseball 46 Wed Feb 22, 2006 02:27pm
Base Award LDUB Baseball 6 Wed Apr 21, 2004 07:39am
Base Award Rick Vietti Baseball 5 Wed Aug 06, 2003 01:33pm
Base award TERRY1 Softball 5 Thu Aug 22, 2002 02:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1