The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 26, 2016, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 2
When is a Courtesy Runner in the game?

Hello everyone not an umpire but someone who plays rec softball and just wishes to know the rule book well enough to not mess up our team on something stupid or so we don't get hosed because someone got one over on us about a rule. I appreciate any help mainly in trying to catch this and make sure it does not happen again with this team or any other team we play.

This happened Tuesday night in our game involving a courtesy runner. The team we were playing announced to the umpire that they were using their courtesy runner for that inning and it was granted the runner took his place on 1st base and as we were about to pitch to the next batter the team decided that they wanted to save said courtesy or something along those lines so they then decided to substitute instead. The umpire allowed it but we tried to protest on the spot but were denied. Our main protest by our captain was that he believed that the person they subbed in was in the game prior and then was subbed out, obviously you guys would not be able to determine that. My main question is as the courtesy took the base would he not then be considered in the game and therefore could not be subbed out unless it was injury related? Also below are the local rules amendments in our league which follows ASA except where altered for locality.

COURTESTY RUNNERS: Teams will be allowed courtesy runners.
1. A team may only use one courtesy runner per inning (one of each sex in coed).
2. The courtesy runner can be any legal player at the game.
3. If a courtesy runner is on base and their turn at bat comes up, they will be called out and removed
from the base. They will then proceed to bat in their normal spot in the order.
4. Someone being used as a courtesy runner may not be substituted for except in the case of an injury.
5. If someone that is serving as a courtesy runner gets injured and must leave the game, the
person that they are running for may take their spot on the base. If this occurs, the person
removed as a courtesy runner MUST come out of the game, and is not eligible for reentry or
as a substitute later in the game.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 26, 2016, 03:11pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
The real answer is ... it's official when the umpire notates it on his lineup card.

Unfortunately, in local leagues slash coed slowpitch ... you often get umpires that don't even keep a lineup card much less notate CR's on it.

In that case, you're kind of up to some made-up notion of when it's official held by the particular umpire on the scene. I would add, however, that just about any umpire I can imagine working would consider the change made when that player took their position on the base. Your guys disagreed, obviously.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Courtesy runner; unreported sub runner Tru_in_Blu Softball 4 Fri Jan 09, 2015 05:49pm
Courtesy Runner In Game ? Chess Ref Softball 7 Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:28pm
When is courtesy runner legally in game? drh898 Softball 8 Tue May 08, 2012 07:49pm
Courtesy Runner sprivitor Softball 15 Thu Jun 05, 2008 03:52pm
Pinch runner for a courtesy runner? jwwashburn Softball 17 Wed May 02, 2007 01:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1