The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2016, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 6
Courtesy Runner

When should a illegal courtesy runner be announced by the defense, and what penalties are applied. Before next pitch? If the illegal CR has scored are there any penalties that can be applied?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2016, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Six_DanO View Post
When should a illegal courtesy runner be announced by the defense, and what penalties are applied. Before next pitch? If the illegal CR has scored are there any penalties that can be applied?
It shouldn't happen, umpire should catch such an attempt and not allow it
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2016, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Six_DanO View Post
When should a illegal courtesy runner be announced by the defense, and what penalties are applied. Before next pitch? If the illegal CR has scored are there any penalties that can be applied?
Mike is correct, but some umpires make mistakes.
The defense should appeal asap, but the CR is not illegal until a pitch is thrown or a play made. The player is disqualified.
If the CR scored, then still DQ, but the run still counts.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2016, 03:39pm
JDM JDM is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 8
So the only punishment is that the wrong CR is ejected?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2016, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Mike is correct, but some umpires make mistakes.
The defense should appeal asap, but the CR is not illegal until a pitch is thrown or a play made. The player is disqualified.
If the CR scored, then still DQ, but the run still counts.
I agree umpire should prevent this from happening, but at least in ASA, once reported, the CR is in the game, even before a pitch is thrown. Rule 8.10F reads "Once the courtesy runner is designated for that half inning, the pitcher or catcher for whom they are running may not return to run while the courtesy runner is on base. A courtesy runner cannot run for a courtesy runner." There was also a case play from a year ago.

From June 2015 ASA Umpire Website
Play: In the top of the third inning B7 the catcher gets a base hit. The coach whose team is only batting 9, reports in Thompson to be a Courtesy Runner and Thompson takes their place on 1B. The umpire puts the ball back in play and before a pitch is thrown the coach calls time and changes their mind or made a mistake and he wants to put Johnson in as the Courtesy Runner. Is this legal?
Ruling: No, this is not legal. Since Thompson was submitted to the Plate Umpire and Thompson had taken their place at 1B, Thompson is the legal Courtesy Runner. By rule you cannot have a courtesy runner run for a courtesy runner. Rule 8 Section 10F.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2016, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDM View Post
So the only punishment is that the wrong CR is ejected?
Disqualified. Two different things covered by different rules with different outcomes.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 31, 2016, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 2
Hi I had a question in a somewhat related note to this. In my Tuesday night league the opposing team called for a courtesy runner and it was granted and the umpire let me know(I was catching). Then after the runner was on base but before the pitch was thrown to the new batter the team changed their mind and decided they didn't want a courtesy runner but to sub out the player that was at bat to save the courtesy runner. Would this be allowed by any normal ASA rules? Would the courtesy runner been essentially in the game at that point since the umpire alerted me they were using their courtesy runner for the inning and he was on base and would this not be an illegal substitution? Just trying to figure out for future games so I know if it is illegal what to protest.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Courtesy runner; unreported sub runner Tru_in_Blu Softball 4 Fri Jan 09, 2015 05:49pm
Courtesy runner and 8-10-E RKBUmp Softball 7 Mon Jan 18, 2010 07:15pm
Pinch runner for a courtesy runner? jwwashburn Softball 17 Wed May 02, 2007 01:43pm
NSA courtesy runner Little Jimmy Softball 4 Tue Jul 05, 2005 07:59am
Courtesy Runner pollywolly60 Softball 3 Wed Sep 03, 2003 10:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1