![]() |
|
|
|||
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
The exact rule is on page 142
12.12.9 A fielder shall not intentionally contact or catch a fair batted ball or with a batted foul ball, which might become fair, with her cap, helmet, mask, chest protector, glove/mitt or any part of her uniform that is detached from its proper place or her person You also need to keep in mind 9.2.4 on page 88 that states there is no catch when "the fielder uses any equipment or part of her uniform that is displaced from its proper position." The effect is a 3 base award, possibly 4 base if going over the fence for a home run My opinion Sit 1: Delayed Dead Ball, 3 base award. 12.12.9 may or may not apply depending on if I deem it intentional but my reading of 9.2.4 does not require it to be intentional. Sit 2: Same as above Sit 3: This depends entirely on what the ball is doing. If the ball at the time of the swat is going away from the line I have a foul ball. Going toward it I probably have 12.12.9 and 9.2.4, which is the same DDB and 3 base award. I have asked for the proper ruling, will report back if different
__________________
Once when the Yankee's Lou Pinella was batting he questioned a Palermo strike call. Pinella demanded, "Where was that pitch at?" Palermo told him that a man wearing Yankee pinstripes in front of 30,000 people should not end a sentence with a preposition. So Pinella, no dummy, said, "OK, where was that pitch at, a**hole?" -George Will |
|
|||
I can't wait to call this in a ball game and watch what happens......
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
I have nightmares about certain situations I have to call, this one was added to the list
__________________
Once when the Yankee's Lou Pinella was batting he questioned a Palermo strike call. Pinella demanded, "Where was that pitch at?" Palermo told him that a man wearing Yankee pinstripes in front of 30,000 people should not end a sentence with a preposition. So Pinella, no dummy, said, "OK, where was that pitch at, a**hole?" -George Will |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Detached equipment (OBR) | David Emerling | Baseball | 30 | Fri Sep 28, 2012 03:00pm |
Detached Player Equipment | MikeStrybel | Baseball | 3 | Mon Dec 12, 2011 07:55pm |
Detached Equipment on a Foul Fly | SC Ump | Softball | 12 | Mon May 11, 2009 02:56pm |
detached equipment | ggk | Baseball | 17 | Sun Jan 20, 2008 01:21am |
Detached Equipment | rwest | Softball | 6 | Fri May 05, 2006 01:09pm |