The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2008, 01:48pm
ggk ggk is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 140
detached equipment

Bases loaded, one out. The batter lays down a "suicide squeeze" bunt that rolls into foul territory near the first base foul line. Due to the spinning action on the ball, the ball is rolling back towards the foul line and has a chance of becoming a fair ball. The pitcher and catcher are running towards the ball and the pitcher yells, "touch it foul" at which time the catcher scoops up the ball with the mask he is holding in his throwing hand.

i believe that the ruling in fed and ncaa ruling for detached equipment applies to a ball in fair territory as well as one that is foul but has a chance to become fair. does the mask in the catcher's hand actually meet the definition of detached equipment? while it is detached from its normal location it is not completed detached from his body. it is not as if he has thrown his mask at the ball.

what is your ruling for fed and ncaa?? 3 base award??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2008, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

ggk,

The mask in the catcher's hand is NOT "properly attached", hence it is deemed "detached equipment". If, in the umpire's judgement, the batted ball had a chance of becoming fair absent the contact with the detached equipment, make the award.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2008, 02:12pm
ggk ggk is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 140
i agree. but i seem to remember someone making an argument otherwise. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2008, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
No KO, I Have a Split Decision

Fielder's cap? If it were whiskers away from foul, I would expect the fielder to pick it up barehanded and attempt to make a play. I would allow the play to continue live and pick up the players reactions before I make that 3-B award decision. I doubt I would award all 3 if B/Rs reached bases safely or attempt extra bases at their own risk {Similar to balk ruling}.

Catcher's helmet? I would rule that the ball had no chance of going fair, foul ball because the catcher was all over it. But if it were whiskers away from foul, I would also expect the catcher to pick it up barehanded and attempt to make a play. Need more info. I would also have to see B/Rs reactions to make that decision. If either gives up, most likely the batter-runner, I would not make the 3 base award, I would have a foul ball.

Last edited by SAump; Sun Jan 13, 2008 at 06:05pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2008, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
Need more info.
All the info needed is in the OP, and the question has been correctly answered.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2008, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggk
it is not as if he has thrown his mask at the ball.
In fact, it's exactly as if he has thrown his mask at the ball (and hit it).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2008, 11:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
That'll never happen in my game!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
All the info needed is in the OP, and the question has been correctly answered.
1) Masks are now illegal FED equipment. I would have to ask myself if the catcher were deliberately testing my knowledge. I would toss the mask before the first pitch of the game.

2) Catchers that shave know how to reach a ball with their bare hand or mitt. Catchers with HSM also know how easy it is to make this play with either left-handed mitt or free hand in place of their new right-hand extension. Imagine how difficult it is to scoop up a spinning ground ball in your HSH and to throw or make a play with their new extension.

3) What spinning action? The action that occurs behind home plate. I would have to ask myself why a catcher deliberately committed a 3B award penalty. Did the catcher hit the ball with the mask or the ball hit into the catcher's mask?

Last edited by SAump; Mon Jan 14, 2008 at 01:03am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2008, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I seem to recall "detached equipment" being called on a live ball that did NOT have a chance of going fair: it was a pitch not swung at.

The Dodgers were playing somebody or other, R2, outs don't matter, and F2 blocked a pitch in the dirt, while pulling his mask off. As the ball started to roll away from him on the 1B side, he used his mask to corral it.

I believe it was Eddie Rap. (doesn't really matter) at 3B who called detached equipment and awarded R2 third. The FOX announcers took a while to figure that one out.

Point is: the provision about "possibly becoming fair" would apply to a batted ball only, and detached equipment is possible in other situations.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2008, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron

I believe it was Eddie Rap. (doesn't really matter) at 3B who called detached equipment and awarded R2 third. The FOX announcers took a while to figure that one out.

Point is: the provision about "possibly becoming fair" would apply to a batted ball only, and detached equipment is possible in other situations.
I can believe the FOX announcers took a while to figure it out (if they did at all), but I bet they butchered it without hesitation! BTW: FED only it's a 2-base award.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2008, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
1) Masks are now illegal FED equipment. I would have to ask myself if the catcher were deliberately testing my knowledge. I would toss the mask before the first pitch of the game.

2) Catchers that shave know how to reach a ball with their bare hand or mitt. Catchers with HSM also know how easy it is to make this play with either left-handed mitt or free hand in place of their new right-hand extension. Imagine how difficult it is to scoop up a spinning ground ball in your HSH and to throw or make a play with their new extension.

3) What spinning action? The action that occurs behind home plate. I would have to ask myself why a catcher deliberately committed a 3B award penalty. Did the catcher hit the ball with the mask or the ball hit into the catcher's mask?
1) Not true. A certified mask and helmet combo is still legal. They're just rare. And, clearly the ruling doesn't depend on whether this is a mask or an HSH.

2) Yes, they know how to reach the ball with their bare had. They also "forget" the rule and might panic.

3) A valid question, but also one that's covered in the OP. The use of the word "scoops" indicates a positive action by F2.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2008, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
1) Masks are now illegal FED equipment.
Since when?

Quote:
I would have to ask myself if the catcher were deliberately testing my knowledge.
It appears you'd fail that test.

Quote:
I would toss the mask before the first pitch of the game.
Followed, of course, by the head coach, assistant coach, catcher, catcher's dad...
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2008, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
1) Not true. A certified mask and helmet combo is still legal. They're just rare.
About a third of varsity catchers still use the combo hereabouts.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2008, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
It's not the mask that is illegal, it's the skull cap. Fed wants ear protection also. There are mask/helmet combos that are legal equipment.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 15, 2008, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 83
Missing the obvious aka open your eyes

The title is me talking to me.

I don't know if I actually saw an ANSWER to the question.. a good one.

I know that:
Sitch 1. Runners on. and a swinging bunt dribber rolls out in front of plate (in fair territory) and catcher (for whatever reason, maybe he is from Mars) uses his MASK in his hand to scoop ball back toward him.

I know this will be a 3 base award for using detached equip on a batted ball, but the ball remains live.. (never understood this part). I quess when playing action stops, all baserunners will be scored and the B-R will be put on 3rd.

My guess at this time is same for other codes.

But is the answer the same on the ball in foul territory but has a "chance" to go fair?
__________________
LLJVU in Seattle
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 16, 2008, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikebran

But is the answer the same on the ball in foul territory but has a "chance" to go fair?
I believe Ump JM already answered this - here's the pertinent FED rule (my emphasis):

Rule 8: Baserunning, Section 3: Baserunning Awards, Article 3

Art. 3... Each runner is awarded:

b. three bases if a batted ball (other than in item a) is touched by an illegal glove or mitt, or by detached player equipment which is thrown, tossed, kicked or held by a fielder, provided the ball when touched is on or over fair ground, or is a fair ball while on or over foul ground, or is over foul ground in a situation such that it might become a fair ball;
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detached Equipment rwest Softball 6 Fri May 05, 2006 01:09pm
equipment irefky Football 0 Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:10pm
Detached Equip - Ball foul BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Feb 25, 2003 10:40am
Detached base Alan G Baseball 2 Sun Apr 28, 2002 08:00am
Detached Equiptment dan_renninger Baseball 4 Sun Mar 17, 2002 11:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1