![]() |
|
|
|||
runner passing preceding runner
This question came up at a clinic today.
The situation was in an NFHS game. Two outs, fast runner on first base. B4 hits a gapper that rolls a ways because there is no fence. R1, after rounding second is involved in a collision with F6 and R1 goes down hurt. B4, continuing to run, passes R1 and heads to third. The relay from the outfield is bobbled and B4 continues on to home. An infielder gathers the ball, runs over and tags R1 who is still laying on the ground. At this point, the umpires called a dead ball, and got together to discuss what they had. They allowed B4 to score and awarded R1 home. At first there was some possibility that R1 would have to be carried off the field. The umpires told the coach that a substitute would be allowed to come in and run the awarded bases for the injured player. Ultimately, the injured R1 did manage to get up and touched 3rd and home to score the second run. Checking NFHS 8-6, A runner is out when: Art. 4 The runner physically passes a preceding runner before that runner has been put out. If this was the third out of the inning, any runs scoring prior to the out for passing a preceding runner would count. A runner(s) passing a preceding obstructed runner, as in 8-4-3b Penalty c, is not out. Is there any requirement for the runners to score in sequence? I.E. would the subsequent runner (B4) be required to retreat their steps home, to third, to second, and then wait for R1 to touch her awarded bases? What if B4 had entered the dugout/DBT? Assuming there were no missed bases, could there be an appeal anywhere? Looking at the ASA rule, there does not appear to be such an exception. Thanx.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
It seems that if " A runner(s) passing a preceding obstructed runner, as in 8-4-3b Penalty c, is not out" applies, the sequence does not matter. R1 is awarded home as of the moment of the OBS.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Well, not exactly. OBS is a delayed dead-ball and awards are made at the conclusion of playing action or when the obstructed runner is tagged while off a base. Yes?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Right, I meant the determination by the umpire and the "right" to the awarded base existing as soon as the OBS occurs; assuming no overriding factors.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
There is a case play for this scenario in the 2016 Fed casebook: 8.6.4e, page 64. The approved ruling is to award the potentially-injured player the base she would have achieved without obstruction (home), and she scores. I do not believe the order in which the runners score matters in this case, as R1 was obstructed and can legally be passed by other runners including the BR.
There is no comment regarding awarded bases that I could find in the Fed rule book other than that they must be "ran legally". Common sense applies here. When a batter is hit in the head with a pitch, and is woozy, do we make her run to 1B for the awarded base before allowing a substitute?
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." Last edited by teebob21; Mon Jan 18, 2016 at 06:31pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The award is determined at the time of the infraction. They are announced and applied at the end of action. So I guess it depends on what you meant by "made".
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Corrolary question for the peanut gallery. Say it's 2 outs and 3-2 count, runner from 1st alertly steals full blast on the pitch, but runner from 2nd doesn't move. Say Runner from 2nd is a tank, horrendously slow, with two kneebraces. You are positive she would only have achieved 3rd (at best) when she is obstructed. Then after you determine this, the runner from 1st legally scores during play.
Where do you place runners, without lying and deciding after the fact that the runner from 2nd would have scored.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
I think you'd have to do the same thing if you have a slow runner on first tripped up on the way to second and the rabbit like BR stretches it into a triple. |
|
|||
Quote:
I would award the obstructed runner home and the batter run, who legally made it home, would retain that position at home. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
base runner passing another runner | wyo-referee | Baseball | 2 | Mon Jun 10, 2013 11:41pm |
Passing a runner | alwaysask | Softball | 9 | Fri May 09, 2003 09:59pm |
Passing runner | greymule | Softball | 4 | Thu Oct 03, 2002 08:45pm |
runner passing another runner | shipwreck | Softball | 2 | Sun Apr 07, 2002 11:12am |
passing a runner | greymule | Softball | 6 | Sat Feb 23, 2002 10:29am |