The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 13, 2003, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
That part is clear to me, too. Until the batter has touched 1B and the pitcher has the ball in the circle, what the runners do is immaterial for the purposes of the look-back rule.

I do believe there is some ambiguity regarding Part c, however.

Ball in the circle. Runner overruns, turns left, makes a motion toward 2B and stops. Part c says (literally) that, now that she has stopped, she must proceed toward 2B non-stop. In what other situation can a runner stop between bases and not have a choice of which way to run?

A runner is either (1) permitted to stop and then immediately proceed one way or the other, or (2) not permitted to stop at all. Part c says a runner can stop but then must proceed in one direction only. I suspect that "and stops" should be deleted from Part c.

POE #33 (look-back rule) even contradicts Part c: "If, after the pitcher has the ball within the circle, the runner [who has overrun] starts back to the original base or forward to another base and then stops or reverses direction, the runner is out, unless the pitcher makes a play on the runner [it should say any runner].

POE #33 contains an known erroneous sentence. Perhaps Part c also fails to say what it means.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1