Forum: Softball
Mon Jun 05, 2006, 04:22pm
|
|
Replies: 10
Views: 1,875
Thought that might be it...I've worked it and...
Thought that might be it...I've worked it and played in many years ago...would like to get back sometime to do it again...From my memory the biggest thing used to be the pitching arc, but that may be...
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Jun 05, 2006, 04:03pm
|
|
Replies: 10
Views: 1,875
|
Forum: Softball
Tue May 23, 2006, 04:55pm
|
|
Replies: 15
Views: 2,679
Thanks guys -
I think some of these guys...
Thanks guys -
I think some of these guys play 16" or USSSA and forget you can't fake in ASA 12", but I did have one guy just say that he was losing his grip on the ball so he stopped. One more...
|
Forum: Softball
Tue May 23, 2006, 03:33pm
|
|
Replies: 15
Views: 2,679
SP Pitching questions
Need help on some pitching questions for ASA SP no stealing (This was men's but could apply to womens or co-ed too):
Pitcher starts to deliver to plate, but doesn't deliver the ball - like a fake ...
|
Forum: Softball
Fri May 12, 2006, 02:28pm
|
|
Replies: 11
Views: 1,296
|
Forum: Softball
Thu May 11, 2006, 02:22pm
|
|
Replies: 11
Views: 1,296
Contact at 1B when F3 running to bag
I have had this happen several times already this year on ground balls to F3 where F3 when racing to beat the runner to 1B will cross over the bag and there will be a collision between F3 and BR. I...
|
Forum: Softball
Thu May 11, 2006, 02:16pm
|
|
Replies: 28
Views: 4,226
Double Base - Foul Territory
ASA Men's 12" SP - Double Base at 1B
Batter hits a hot shot to F3 - Ball bounces off F3 into foul territory - F3 retrieves ball and dives back touching orange (foul) side of bag just ahead of BR -...
|
Forum: Softball
Fri May 05, 2006, 10:01am
|
|
Replies: 5
Views: 1,755
|
Forum: Softball
Fri May 05, 2006, 09:15am
|
|
Replies: 5
Views: 1,755
Interesting Play
ASA SP Rec. Mens - 1 umpire
1 out R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd, R3 on 1st - Batter hits soft liner between F1 and F6 - No way either one could have caught with ordinary effort, F1 barely gets glove on...
|
Forum: Softball
Wed Apr 05, 2006, 02:51pm
|
|
Replies: 19
Views: 2,190
The way I was taught was to not call time for...
The way I was taught was to not call time for plays until I was sure the runners were no longer advancing; therefore if there is only the BR I can wait just a few seconds longer to see if a play...
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Mar 20, 2006, 08:50am
|
|
Replies: 53
Views: 8,010
This is a sad commentary
I only do Adult SP...
This is a sad commentary
I only do Adult SP and rarely have to eject anyone. I think that the main reason is most of the leagues around here have not only a casual profanity rule (which I know...
|
Forum: Softball
Tue Feb 21, 2006, 09:04am
|
|
Replies: 10
Views: 1,928
Had a similar play last year doing ASA Coed...
Had a similar play last year doing ASA Coed Adults, I am only umpire:
R1 on 1st, 1 out, Batter hits a sharp one hopper to F6 who steps on 2B and fires ball to F3. F3 misses 1B by at least 3 ft, I...
|
Forum: Softball
Tue Feb 14, 2006, 11:29am
|
|
Replies: 20
Views: 3,061
Mike,
The way you just described is the way...
Mike,
The way you just described is the way I had always thought it was done, but the way I was reading the thread made it sound like I had been doing it wrong or at least not allowing for the...
|
Forum: Softball
Tue Feb 14, 2006, 08:29am
|
|
Replies: 20
Views: 3,061
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Feb 13, 2006, 09:01am
|
|
Replies: 20
Views: 3,061
At what point did this cease to be a force and...
At what point did this cease to be a force and need to be appealed? Did it happen once R1 passed home? If this is true, does it also hold true for non-force situations? For example, R1 on 3B tags...
|
Forum: Softball
Wed Feb 08, 2006, 04:44pm
|
|
Replies: 9
Views: 1,824
Just to make sure I understand then -
If F6...
Just to make sure I understand then -
If F6 had, in my judgement, the better play on the ball then we have INT on R1, who is then out and the BR is awarded 1B
If F5 had, in my judgement, the...
|
Forum: Softball
Wed Feb 08, 2006, 10:50am
|
|
Replies: 9
Views: 1,824
ASA rules - R1 on 2B, Batter hits slow ground...
ASA rules - R1 on 2B, Batter hits slow ground ball between F5 and F6 who both charge toward the ball - F6 runs into R1 and knocks R1 into F5 just as F5 is fielding the ball - They all fall on the...
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Jan 30, 2006, 04:49pm
|
|
Replies: 4
Views: 1,339
Thanks, I wasn't sure if the fact that F10 is...
Thanks, I wasn't sure if the fact that F10 is normally an outfielder made a difference. I actually had A happen in a game, called it a dead ball and awarded BR 1B. Had the biggest argument from the...
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Jan 30, 2006, 01:58pm
|
|
Replies: 4
Views: 1,339
Situations for Men's ASA SP Class C -
A) R1...
Situations for Men's ASA SP Class C -
A) R1 on 2B, F10 playing on infield behind 2B, Batter hits ball up the middle, batted ball hits R1 while standing on base. What is the call?
B) Same as A...
|
Forum: Softball
Thu Jan 05, 2006, 02:48pm
|
|
Replies: 14
Views: 2,440
Thanks Steve - I guess my reasoning in not...
Thanks Steve - I guess my reasoning in not calling obstruction was that I didn't see any way for the fielder to avoid the contact. He couldn't just disappear after he threw the ball and had no...
|
Forum: Softball
Thu Jan 05, 2006, 01:24pm
|
|
Replies: 14
Views: 2,440
|
Forum: Softball
Tue Nov 22, 2005, 08:53am
|
|
Replies: 17
Views: 3,230
Unfortunately it is a myth that has been...
Unfortunately it is a myth that has been ingrained in most adult players for so long that to call it any other way is asking for a fight from even the team that gets the call. I actually had this...
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Nov 21, 2005, 06:34pm
|
|
Replies: 17
Views: 3,230
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Nov 21, 2005, 02:14pm
|
|
Replies: 17
Views: 3,230
1) For foul balls then it is now umpire's...
1) For foul balls then it is now umpire's judgement on what is 'directly' - Fair enough, since I do only SP it give me more possible outs.
2) Double base - This at least gets rid of an attempted...
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Nov 18, 2005, 01:49pm
|
|
Replies: 17
Views: 3,230
Now I'm confused, but I don't have my rule book...
Now I'm confused, but I don't have my rule book so maybe its just from reading these two together and not having the full definitions in front of me. This would imply that all foul balls caught by...
|