The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5
The facemask was incidental.

The facemask mask was incidental. During the tackle the facemask was grabbed. But either way, the fact regarding the basic spot remains unchanged according to this reference which is quoted from the book, word for word.

"While it is possible to have several running plays during a down, with each one having its own basic spot for penalty enforcement (where the related run ended), there can only be one loose ball play during a down. Rule 10-3-1d states in part" also includes the run (or runs) which precedes such legal pass, legal or illegal kick or fumble" (from in or behind the neutral zone). This means it includes all actions from the time of the snap to the end of the "loose-ball play." When any foul occurs during a free kick, scrimmage kick, legal forward pass, backward pass (including the snap) or fumble made by A from in or behind the neutral zone - even if several of these actions happen during the same down - the basic spot remains the same: the previous spot, which is the spot of the snap or free kick (Football Fundamental IX-6; 10.4.2 SITUATION B COMMENT)."



The above paragraph is saying that anything behind the Line of Scrimmage (LOS) remains a loose ball play until the ball goes beyond the LOS. From the NFHS 2014 Rules by Topic, page 245, 10.4.2 SITUATION B re-enforce this statement.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
A tackle by the facemask is going to be 15 yards every time.

As MTUMP said, this goes back to the Rule 2 definition. In this case, the type of play was a running play which makes the basic spot the end of the run.

Under all but one, fouls by the defense are always enforced from the basic spot.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 09:47am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Read this part again..."A loose-ball play is action during....."

then this..."The run or runs which precedes"

The snap had ended when the ball was possessed. The run did not precede the backward pass (snap) it followed.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5
I understand But.....

I understand exactly what you mean. But the point I believe you are missing is that, the play starts with a loose ball play. Which is the snap. Key words, "(In or Behind the Neutral Zone)" any actions from the snap, to the legal forward pass down field, is consider a loose ball play. Once a forward pass has happen, and in possession, now you have a running play unless there is a fumble or backward pass. If the ball is handed off, you still have a loose ball play while again, the keys (In or Behind the Neutral zone). Once beyond the neutral, you start another action. Take a look at rules by topic 10.4.2 SITUATION B, scenario (b) reinforce that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
Read this part again..."A loose-ball play is action during....."

then this..."The run or runs which precedes"

The snap had ended when the ball was possessed. The run did not precede the backward pass (snap) it followed.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
I believe you are misreading the statement and rule.

The actions which result in a loose ball play happen in or behind the neutral zone (pass, fumble, kick, etc.), but the rule clearly states these actions all end when it is possessed or otherwise declared dead. So if the loose ball action is a forward pass, the pass ends when it is caught or incomplete. The loose ball play will include anything up to the end of the pass. The same thing for a fumble behind the line of scrimmage. It ends when the ball is possessed or otherwise declared dead. That also ends the loose ball play. If the ball is then passed, kicked or fumbled again behind the line of scrimmage, the length of the loose ball play is now extended.

Often the determination of loose ball plays and running plays during a down aren't determined until the down is complete. That's why we mark fumbles beyond the neutral zone with bean bags.

Please keep asking questions. The penalty enforcement rules can be very complex, but once you understand the concepts of basic spot, types of play and all-but-one, it becomes much more clear.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 11:47am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
But that is not what happened IN YOUR PLAY. There was no pass down field. There was only a snap. The snap ended when the QB cleanly possessed the ball. He ran, he was tackled. Running play for enforcement purposes.

Under your present reading, there is no such thing as a running play, ever, as all scrimmage plays begin with a snap.

The rule book can be complicated in parts. You enforced it correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 11:56am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
When it's you against the world, back the world.

Even with your clarification, I'd enforce it as a 15 yard mask.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert.gdp View Post
I understand exactly what you mean. But the point I believe you are missing is that, the play starts with a loose ball play. Which is the snap. Key words, "(In or Behind the Neutral Zone)" any actions from the snap, to the legal forward pass down field, is consider a loose ball play. Once a forward pass has happen, and in possession, now you have a running play unless there is a fumble or backward pass.
This is all correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by robert.gdp View Post
If the ball is handed off, you still have a loose ball play while again, the keys (In or Behind the Neutral zone). Once beyond the neutral, you start another action.
This is where you are incorrect. A handoff is not something that triggers a loose ball play. Even if it did, there is nothing that says it remains a loose ball play UNTIL it crosses the neutral zone. A backward pass triggers a loose ball play if it happens in or behind the neutral zone, but it does not if it happen beyond the neutral zone. The loose ball play ends though once the backward pass is caught or otherwise declared dead.

Hope that helps!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert.gdp View Post
I understand exactly what you mean. But the point I believe you are missing is that, the play starts with a loose ball play. Which is the snap. Key words, "(In or Behind the Neutral Zone)" any actions from the snap, to the legal forward pass down field, is consider a loose ball play. Once a forward pass has happen, and in possession, now you have a running play unless there is a fumble or backward pass. If the ball is handed off, you still have a loose ball play while again, the keys (In or Behind the Neutral zone). Once beyond the neutral, you start another action. Take a look at rules by topic 10.4.2 SITUATION B, scenario (b) reinforce that.
The only loose-ball play on this is the snap. That loose-ball play ended when the QB gained possession. Anything that happens after that in this play is a run, because you can't have something that precedes something that didn't happen (the pass that never came.) If there had been another pass thrown, then you would have a loose-ball play ending with that pass.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert.gdp View Post
But the point I believe you are missing is that,
Um. You have this backward. He, we, everyone here understands this enforcement perfectly. We have to. We see it literally a thousand times a season.

You don't. And you're not listening. Stop arguing and start listening.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 03:06pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
You don't. And you're not listening. Stop arguing and start listening.
One thing I love about this board is the no-nonsense approach.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2014, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5
The one thing I have found about being in the military for 20 years is that one must stand alone to accomplish a goal. As i have received my response from the NFHS, i was correct. For all you OLD timers who refuse to pick up a book and read. (can't teach a old Dog new tricks) the rule reads from the time of the snap until there is a legal kick or forward pass, all actions ("IN OR BEHIND") the basic spot (LOS) the enforcement will remains the same regardless of the actions which takes place, The "Previous Spot"..It remains a Loose Ball Play and ends when there is a forward pass or kick... Once the ball goes beyond the LOS, and is secured, then you will have a running play form that point forward.

As the rules states, A loose Ball play is started from the snap, and any action that takes plkace while the ball is behind the LOS, it still remains a loose ball play...................

Reading is fundamental.........................
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2014, 11:38am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert.gdp View Post
As the rules states, A loose Ball play is started from the snap, and any action that takes plkace while the ball is behind the LOS, it still remains a loose ball play...................
That is completely untrue and is verified by the very basic rules that have already been posted.

Whatever it is you think you have from the NFHS, you've either misunderstood or misrepresented to them. You actually contradict yourself in your own post.

Reading certainly is fundamental. So is understanding Rule 2.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2014, 12:54pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
I'm going to add one thing and see if it clarifies anything for you. Let's break your original play down and put it on a time line.

From your post:
Quote:
QB receives the snap, drops back and due to pressure, scrambles about 15 yards behind the basic spot (LOS) where he was tackle by the face mask (5 yards).


As you can see, and supported by rule, the loose ball play is over when the snap was caught and the running play began. There was never another loose ball of any kind in this play.

The fact that the play happened behind the LOS is immaterial in this case.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2014, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert.gdp View Post
The one thing I have found about being in the military for 20 years is that one must stand alone to accomplish a goal.
Hmm...been in for 15, never had that lesson. What I have learned is that:

A: When people don't listen to reality, people die, and
B: People that beat their chest about being in the military generally didn't accomplish much.

If it helps, I'm not an "old dog." I'm not even a football official. I'm learning the rules so if I decide to make the plunge, I know what I'm doing (or are less unknowing of what I'm doing.)
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2014, 02:46pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
You're being obtuse now.

The case book comment you referenced includes the following: "When any foul occurs during a free kick, scrimmage kick, legal forward pass, backward pass (including the snap) or fumble made by A from in or behind the neutral zone...even if several of these actions happen during the same down...the basic spot remains the same, the previous spot which is the spot of the snap or free kick."

The facemask foul in your OP didn't happen during one of those events. Therefore, it's a foul during a running play, with the basic spot being the end of the related run.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic Spot golfdesigner Football 2 Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:43am
Basic spot question Brandon Kincer Football 8 Wed May 27, 2009 08:35pm
Basic Spot dumbref Football 24 Mon Sep 11, 2006 02:14am
Basic Spot Rackster Football 3 Sun Sep 21, 2003 11:34pm
Basic spot for facemask fouls lawref Football 6 Thu Sep 04, 2003 01:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1