The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2014, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5
Foul Behind the Basic Spot

I have a question that may have been answer before, but I just need clarification. It is in reference to spot fouls.

I was calling a high school game. it was 3 and 10. QB receives the snap, drops back and due to pressure, scrambles about 15 yards behind the basic spot (LOS) where he was tackle by the face mask (5 yards). the penalty was accessed from the spot. so then it became 3 and 20. is this the correct enforcement?

Using the 2014 rule by Topic book, it states on page 240, that a "snap" is consider a loose ball play. it states from the time of the snap until the play is dead in or behind the basic spot, it will be consider a loose ball play. Case play 10.4.2 Situation B also reinforce that statement.
The only exception is the All but one where the offense commits a foul behind the basic spot which then will be a spot foul.

AM I WAY OFF BASE HERE??? I went to the state and there response is listed below. I welcome all comments to help me clarified this……



“A pitch is a loose ball. From the snap until the pitched ball is possessed is all part of a loose ball play. Once the ball is possessed after the pitch, everything else becomes a running play.

On a handoff, its always a running play.

Only on a loose ball play is that penalty previous spot. Any foul on a running play has the basic spot as the spot of the foul.

So in your play with a handoff, that face mask is enforced from the spot. There is no advantage gained by the defense on your play at all. In fact, on the very play you talk about, they had taken the offense back 15 yards with pursuit, etc., but then that would be reduced by five yards because of the inadvertent face mask. So they still got the team back ten yards.

I think your confusion in reading the rules may be due to the fact that you can have several running plays on the same play, but only one loose ball play. In the pitch play, you have a loose ball play, followed by a running play, on the same down. Don't equate a down with a play, they are different.”
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2014, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 31
To me a simply reply is one a friend on this forum uses a lot...>Read Rule 2!

Rule 2-33
ART. 1 . . . A loose-ball play is action during:
a. A free kick or scrimmage kick other than post-scrimmage kick fouls.
b. A legal forward pass.
c. A backward pass (including the snap), an illegal kick or fumble made by A from in or behind the neutral zone prior to a change of team possession.
d. The run or runs which precedes such legal or illegal kick, legal forward pass, backward pass or fumble..

Thus, the run/actiojn PRECEDING the loose ball make is covered under a loose ball play. The run AFTER the loose ball is enforced as a running play (2-33-2)

Rule 2-33 ART. 2 . . . A running play is any action not included in Article 1, including the related run as in 2-41-9a.

Seems straight-forward.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2014, 04:32pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Yes, you enforced it correctly. The end of the run was where the QB was brought down- which you state was by the face mask- which leads me to wonder should it not have been a 15 yard personal foul. The five yard penalty is for grasping the facemask. If it was enough to tackle him with it you've got a different foul altogether.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 12, 2014, 04:39pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
A tackle by the facemask is going to be 15 yards every time.

As MTUMP said, this goes back to the Rule 2 definition. In this case, the type of play was a running play which makes the basic spot the end of the run.

Under all but one, fouls by the defense are always enforced from the basic spot.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5
The facemask was incidental.

The facemask mask was incidental. During the tackle the facemask was grabbed. But either way, the fact regarding the basic spot remains unchanged according to this reference which is quoted from the book, word for word.

"While it is possible to have several running plays during a down, with each one having its own basic spot for penalty enforcement (where the related run ended), there can only be one loose ball play during a down. Rule 10-3-1d states in part" also includes the run (or runs) which precedes such legal pass, legal or illegal kick or fumble" (from in or behind the neutral zone). This means it includes all actions from the time of the snap to the end of the "loose-ball play." When any foul occurs during a free kick, scrimmage kick, legal forward pass, backward pass (including the snap) or fumble made by A from in or behind the neutral zone - even if several of these actions happen during the same down - the basic spot remains the same: the previous spot, which is the spot of the snap or free kick (Football Fundamental IX-6; 10.4.2 SITUATION B COMMENT)."



The above paragraph is saying that anything behind the Line of Scrimmage (LOS) remains a loose ball play until the ball goes beyond the LOS. From the NFHS 2014 Rules by Topic, page 245, 10.4.2 SITUATION B re-enforce this statement.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
A tackle by the facemask is going to be 15 yards every time.

As MTUMP said, this goes back to the Rule 2 definition. In this case, the type of play was a running play which makes the basic spot the end of the run.

Under all but one, fouls by the defense are always enforced from the basic spot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 09:47am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Read this part again..."A loose-ball play is action during....."

then this..."The run or runs which precedes"

The snap had ended when the ball was possessed. The run did not precede the backward pass (snap) it followed.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2014, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5
Straight-forward it is not

I agree with most of what you have said. but there is one important fact that is left out.

THIS IS COMING STRAIGHT OUT THE BOOK AS IT IS WRITTEN. I Quote,

"While it is possible to have several running plays during a down, with each one having its own basic spot for penalty enforcement (where the related run ended), there can only be one loose ball play during a down. Rule 10-3-1d states in part" also includes the run (or runs) which precedes such legal pass, legal or illegal kick or fumble" (from in or behind the neutral zone). This means it includes all actions from the time of the snap to the end of the "loose-ball play." When any foul occurs during a free kick, scrimmage kick, legal forward pass, backward pass (including the snap) or fumble made by A from in or behind the neutral zone - even if several of these actions happen during the same down - the basic spot remains the same: the previous spot, which is the spot of the snap or free kick (Football Fundamental IX-6; 10.4.2 SITUATION B COMMENT)."


The above paragraph is saying that anything behind the Line of Scrimmage (LOS) remains a loose ball play until the ball goes beyond the LOS. From the NFHS 2014 Rules by Topic, page 245, 10.4.2 SITUATION B re-enforce this statement.



Quote:
Originally Posted by MTUMP View Post
To me a simply reply is one a friend on this forum uses a lot...>Read Rule 2!

Rule 2-33
ART. 1 . . . A loose-ball play is action during:
a. A free kick or scrimmage kick other than post-scrimmage kick fouls.
b. A legal forward pass.
c. A backward pass (including the snap), an illegal kick or fumble made by A from in or behind the neutral zone prior to a change of team possession.
d. The run or runs which precedes such legal or illegal kick, legal forward pass, backward pass or fumble..

Thus, the run/actiojn PRECEDING the loose ball make is covered under a loose ball play. The run AFTER the loose ball is enforced as a running play (2-33-2)

Rule 2-33 ART. 2 . . . A running play is any action not included in Article 1, including the related run as in 2-41-9a.

Seems straight-forward.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic Spot golfdesigner Football 2 Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:43am
Basic spot question Brandon Kincer Football 8 Wed May 27, 2009 08:35pm
Basic Spot dumbref Football 24 Mon Sep 11, 2006 02:14am
Basic Spot Rackster Football 3 Sun Sep 21, 2003 11:34pm
Basic spot for facemask fouls lawref Football 6 Thu Sep 04, 2003 01:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1