The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 01:06pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Philosophy of not flagging something when it wouldn't otherwise matter

Usually involves PI.

Play: Team A is guilty of OPI, but Team B intercepts the ball anyways. Team B has a 6-yard interception return. When you, the official who passed on the OPI because B caught the ball anyways, look up at the R, he's got a RTP foul.

Discuss.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 01:43pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,040
Are you fer it, or agin' it?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 02:04pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
The issue rarely comes up in my neck of the woods.

I was wondering what others thought where it may come up more often.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 02:06pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,574
'"oh, crap"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: depends on your perspective
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Usually involves PI.

Play: Team A is guilty of OPI, but Team B intercepts the ball anyways. Team B has a 6-yard interception return. When you, the official who passed on the OPI because B caught the ball anyways,
I've had this happen...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
...look up at the R, he's got a RTP foul.
...but, not in conjuction with this.

That would suck.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 02:19pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLH17 View Post
I've had this happen...
What was your situation?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 02:24pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
The only time I've done something similar is near the end of a blowout game. The team behind holds, illegal shifts, motions, etc. About the only thing we don't let slide, even when the game is out of hand, is a flagrant false start and safety issues.

I've been fortunate never to have had the OPI/RTP, but I have had cases where I ignored a hold by the team that is behind only to have a facemask or DPI on B. But being a blowout....

Besides, in the OP I wouldn't worry too much in a blowout about such an occurrence. And by blowout, I mean something like < 5 minutes left in the game and a team up by 30 or more.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 03:08pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Usually involves PI.

Play: Team A is guilty of OPI, but Team B intercepts the ball anyways. Team B has a 6-yard interception return. When you, the official who passed on the OPI because B caught the ball anyways, look up at the R, he's got a RTP foul.

Discuss.
There is too much tape to be passing on obvious fouls like this. I have thrown a couple of flags for OPI and had the interception run back for a TD. I try to call what I see and if I can wait I will, but obvious fouls I do not pass on.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 03:09pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
There is too much tape to be passing on obvious fouls like this. I have thrown a couple of flags for OPI and had the interception run back for a TD. I try to call what I see and if I can wait I will, but obvious fouls I do not pass on.
Even in blowouts?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 03:17pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suudy View Post
Even in blowouts?
I had a HS game last year. 4-man crew in a blowout. I was the R and my LJ was my college supervisor. U had no impact on this one play. HL was a guy who can be a good official, but comes up with a weird call every now and again.

Sure enough, mid-4th, losing team (by 4 or 5 TDs) marches with some momentum. Slot is held by his defender about 10-12 yards downfield - they both fall to the ground, and the runner uses the additional open space for a nice 25-yard gain. HL has holding. I didn't call it because it required stopping the clock, etc, and A would decline the B hold anyways.

HL tells me Team A holding. I said what? I said to him that B fell back while grabbing A and that it was a B hold. He says no - I have A holding. He wouldn't pick up his flag. Grrrr. Had I flagged it, I could have done more to waive off his flag.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 03:46pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Usually involves PI.

Play: Team A is guilty of OPI, but Team B intercepts the ball anyways. Team B has a 6-yard interception return. When you, the official who passed on the OPI because B caught the ball anyways, look up at the R, he's got a RTP foul.

Discuss.
I have no such philosophy. Nor does anyone on any of the crews I've worked on. Because you will never know what might still happen or what has already happened elsewhere. There is no "it wouldn't otherwise matter".

What happens when you pass on the flag, B fumbles on the return and A scores?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 03:47pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suudy View Post
The only time I've done something similar is near the end of a blowout game. The team behind holds, illegal shifts, motions, etc. About the only thing we don't let slide, even when the game is out of hand, is a flagrant false start and safety issues.

I've been fortunate never to have had the OPI/RTP, but I have had cases where I ignored a hold by the team that is behind only to have a facemask or DPI on B. But being a blowout....

Besides, in the OP I wouldn't worry too much in a blowout about such an occurrence. And by blowout, I mean something like < 5 minutes left in the game and a team up by 30 or more.
When did this become about blowouts? The OP has nothing to do with officiating differently at the end of a blowout.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 04:13pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
When did this become about blowouts? The OP has nothing to do with officiating differently at the end of a blowout.
It wasn't specified. I qualified my "not flagging something when it wouldn't otherwise matter" to be in the cases of blowouts. I injected blowouts into the conversation.

And I would never ignore a clear flag during a game, other than a blowout situation. And I said that I wouldn't worry about the OP in a blowout.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 04:13pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
When did this become about blowouts? The OP has nothing to do with officiating differently at the end of a blowout.
True, but the question didn't restrict to non-blowouts games either.


If someone has a relevant take during a blowout, I'd read that too.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 07:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Usually involves PI.

Play: Team A is guilty of OPI, but Team B intercepts the ball anyways. Team B has a 6-yard interception return. When you, the official who passed on the OPI because B caught the ball anyways, look up at the R, he's got a RTP foul.

Discuss.
Considering that the RTP almost certainly happened well before the PI, and that RTP is a safety issue and PI merely a tactical one that didn't prevent the interception, I would not be disappointed in the outcome of the no-call on the latter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official "banned" for flagging band gostars Football 39 Fri Oct 19, 2012 03:13pm
A Matter of Coaching or Conscience? IRISHMAFIA Softball 18 Tue Nov 03, 2009 06:41pm
Does it matter it it crosses the net? DaveASA/FED Volleyball 8 Sun Aug 29, 2004 02:02pm
Matter of mechanics .... TexBlue Softball 15 Mon Apr 26, 2004 02:29pm
A matter of style? Back In The Saddle Basketball 18 Fri May 16, 2003 10:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1