The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2012, 06:47pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by legend View Post
Not according to the book. This is told in 2 different ways. #1 would be NFHS Rule 2-27 (PG. 33). A muff is the touching of a loose ball by a player in an unsuccessful attempt to secure possession. Or 2-34; Art. 3 (Pg. 36) A change of possession occurs when the opponent gains player possession during the down.

So according to these definations, the fact that R touches the ball or "muffs" it does not constitute a change of possession.
It has nothing to do with change of possession, so you're looking at the wrong rule. This is a rule specifically to do with scrimmage kicks. The proper rule is 5-1-3, quoted in post #6 above.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 13, 2012, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 110
5.1.3 SITUATION C:

Fourth and 10 on K's 45-yard line. K1 punts the ball beyond the neutral zone. R1 muffs the ball back behind the neutral zone where K1 recovers and:

(a) falls on the ball at K's 40-yard line; or
(b) throws a forward pass to K3 which is complete at the 50-yard line and R1 interferes with K3; or
(c) K1 punts the ball and R1 fair catches at his 30-yard line.

RULING: Since R1 touched the kick beyond the neutral zone, it will be first down for the team in possession in (a), (b) and (c). In (a), it is a first down for K at K's 40-yard line. In (b), the pass is legal as there had been no change of team possession. If K accepts the penalty for interference, it will be K's ball at R's 40-yard line. In (c), the second punt is legal as there had been no change of team possession. The ball belongs to R first and 10 on its own 30-yard line. (5-1-2f; 6-2-1; 7-5-1)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdow View Post
5.1.3 SITUATION C:

Fourth and 10 on K's 45-yard line. K1 punts the ball beyond the neutral zone. R1 muffs the ball back behind the neutral zone where K1 recovers and:

(a) falls on the ball at K's 40-yard line; or
(b) throws a forward pass to K3 which is complete at the 50-yard line and R1 interferes with K3; or
(c) K1 punts the ball and R1 fair catches at his 30-yard line.

RULING: Since R1 touched the kick beyond the neutral zone, it will be first down for the team in possession in (a), (b) and (c). In (a), it is a first down for K at K's 40-yard line. In (b), the pass is legal as there had been no change of team possession. If K accepts the penalty for interference, it will be K's ball at R's 40-yard line. In (c), the second punt is legal as there had been no change of team possession. The ball belongs to R first and 10 on its own 30-yard line. (5-1-2f; 6-2-1; 7-5-1)
Exactly. (b) and (c) in this case play show you that, obviously, the ball is not dead - as you said in your previous post.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 01:11pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
On the original question. K's ball on the 40.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 01:18pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
On the original question. K's ball on the 40.
Disagree. An incomplete legal forward pass is returned to the previous spot.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 01:24pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Disagree. An incomplete legal forward pass is returned to the previous spot.
When R muffs the punt and K recovers the muff, the play is dead and it is K's ball at the spot where they recovered the muff.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 02:01pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
When R muffs the punt and K recovers the muff, the play is dead
The play is only dead if a scrimmage kick is recovered by K beyond the LOS. This was recovered behind.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 02:09pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
The play is only dead if a scrimmage kick is recovered by K beyond the LOS. This was recovered behind.
You can't advance a muff. Can you advance a muff that is recovered behind the neutral zone? That is the central question. I have to look this up.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 03:04pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
You can't advance a muff. Can you advance a muff that is recovered behind the neutral zone? That is the central question. I have to look this up.
This was a typo. Meant to say "You can advance a muff"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 03:09pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
You can't advance a muff. Can you advance a muff that is recovered behind the neutral zone? That is the central question. I have to look this up.
I am wrong. Incomplete pass. R ball 1-10 at the 50, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 02:09pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
You can't advance a muff. Can you advance a muff that is recovered behind the neutral zone? That is the central question. I have to look this up.
Yes, you can. The correct answer to the OP (and relevant rules) posted here: Play for you
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 14, 2012, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
When R muffs the punt and K recovers the muff, the play is dead and it is K's ball at the spot where they recovered the muff.
So, you didn't even read the case play that is just 3 up from this post?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Public Address announcer/ Play by play Terrapins Fan Basketball 34 Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am
Force play or tag play dsbrooks1014 Baseball 3 Tue Apr 21, 2009 09:09pm
was a force play, became a tag play ? _Bruno_ Baseball 8 Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1