The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2012, 11:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Upper West Chester
Posts: 164
Our crew discusses this when we meet with the head coaches. We tell them we will call FS if the snapdown causes the defense to jump into the NZ.
Most coaches tell us that they do not do this BUT they have seen on tape the opponent doing it...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2012, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
If it's a foul it's a foul. Calling it should not be dependent on the defense's reaction.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2012, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Upper West Chester
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp View Post
If it's a foul it's a foul. Calling it should not be dependent on the defense's reaction.
It's not a foul unless the defense jumps into the NZ. If they do not jump its just a shift.

Let's look at an example:
A 3 down/4 yards. They snap down hard but they do not draw the defense.
Flag thrown against A.
Coach demands a coach Referee conf to ask what was the penality?
R says your line snapped down.
Coach said they went from a 2 point to a 3 point stance, show me in the rule book where that is a foul. I can see if it drew the other team but all we did was shift.
R - what are you going to say to the coach now?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2012, 03:32pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom.OH View Post
It's not a foul unless the defense jumps into the NZ. If they do not jump its just a shift.

Let's look at an example:
A 3 down/4 yards. They snap down hard but they do not draw the defense.
Flag thrown against A.
Coach demands a coach Referee conf to ask what was the penality?
R says your line snapped down.
Coach said they went from a 2 point to a 3 point stance, show me in the rule book where that is a foul. I can see if it drew the other team but all we did was shift.
R - what are you going to say to the coach now?
Hey, I'm with you, but the coach/referee conference isn't going to do anything with a crew that flags this other than cost the coach a timeout.

If the crew says it's a false start, it's a false start.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2012, 04:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
Hey, I'm with you, but the coach/referee conference isn't going to do anything with a crew that flags this other than cost the coach a timeout.

If the crew says it's a false start, it's a false start.
7-1-7a/b don't require encroachment to have a false start foul, so the rule backing is solid.

That said, I get that this is called differently than it's worded.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2012, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2012, 06:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom.OH View Post
It's not a foul unless the defense jumps into the NZ. If they do not jump its just a shift.

Let's look at an example:
A 3 down/4 yards. They snap down hard but they do not draw the defense.
Flag thrown against A.
Coach demands a coach Referee conf to ask what was the penality?
R says your line snapped down.
Coach said they went from a 2 point to a 3 point stance, show me in the rule book where that is a foul. I can see if it drew the other team but all we did was shift.
R - what are you going to say to the coach now?
What are you going to tell that coach when they've been shifting all night and then suddenly in the 4th quarter, they shift, the defense jumps and you throw a flag?????

It's either a foul or it's not a foul. Whether the defense shifts has NOTHING to do with it.

And BTW, I would never tell a coach, "We're going to be calling ___________ tonight." That's just plain dumb.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 09, 2012, 07:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom.OH View Post
R - what are you going to say to the coach now?
I guess I could just quote the case book:

From 7.1.7 Sit A
"These are acts interpreted to cause an opponent to encroach and, therefore, are infractions. It is the intent of the rules to prohibit such acts. Whether or not the action by A1 draws B into the neutral zone should not be the determining factor in ruling a false-start foul."

or,

7.1.7 Sit B
"This could be ruled a false start if the covering official(s) determine that it was designed to cause B to encroach. In judging the offensive team's intent, the game officials should consider whether players move to a new position, the speed and abruptness of movement, down and distance and if any player pretends to have the ball or otherwise simulate action at the snap with the start of a play."

The rule is pretty clear:


7-1-7 After the ball is marked ready for play and before the snap begins, no false start shall be made by any A player. It is a false start if:
a. A shift or feigned charge simulates action at the snap.
b. Any act is clearly intended to cause B to encroach.

c. Any A player on his line between the snapper and the player on the end of his line, after having placed a hand(s) on or near the ground, moves his hand(s) or makes any quick movement.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!

Last edited by waltjp; Tue Oct 09, 2012 at 07:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 09, 2012, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 68
I have already flagged this in 3 or our varsity games this season. Last game the coach told me they haven't been flagged for that in 5 years. I calmly responded, "Coach, I am not going to apologize for knowing the rules!" "Coach, it is rule 7-1-7 A & B if you want to look it up."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 09, 2012, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
We had a game where when the opposing team got ready to PAT the slapped their thighs. The white hat comes over to our head coach and says, "Coach, if you guys jump I am going to flag them for false start when they do that."

I just looked at him a said, "You don't really understand that ruling at all, do you?"

I told him where to find it and told them it was FS whether we jumped or not. He said you are right but I am not going to call it unless the defense jumps.

After the game we talked and he agreed 100% that I was right but it didn't change the way he called it that night or how he will call it in the future.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 09, 2012, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
We had a game where when the opposing team got ready to PAT the slapped their thighs. The white hat comes over to our head coach and says, "Coach, if you guys jump I am going to flag them for false start when they do that."

I just looked at him a said, "You don't really understand that ruling at all, do you?"

I told him where to find it and told them it was FS whether we jumped or not. He said you are right but I am not going to call it unless the defense jumps.

After the game we talked and he agreed 100% that I was right but it didn't change the way he called it that night or how he will call it in the future.
Officials that don't know the rules bug me somewhat, although at least they can be shown the rule and retrained, and they generally are trying to do what they think is right, even if they don't know what that is.

But officials that KNOW the rules and choose to intentionally rule differently bug the everloving crap out of me.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2012, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom.OH View Post
Our crew discusses this when we meet with the head coaches. We tell them we will call FS if the snapdown causes the defense to jump into the NZ.
Really???
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2012, 11:50pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom.OH View Post
Our crew discusses this when we meet with the head coaches. We tell them we will call FS if the snapdown causes the defense to jump into the NZ.
Most coaches tell us that they do not do this BUT they have seen on tape the opponent doing it...
That sounds a little much. Why would you bring this up?

We did discuss this with a coach in the post season and only because the coach brought it up to use in the pre-game meeting. And we did discuss this in our crew pre-game meeting because it was brought to our attention they did this only in 4th and short situations. Otherwise we would not ever bring this up direclty to a coach. To me you are inviting trouble by mentioning this on your own.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 07:57am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Had a WH do this in a pre-game conference several years ago when he was watching my sideline warm-up. He pointed it out to the head coach who didn't say anything at the time but when he got flagged for it later gnawed on me for several minutes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can defense make play after leaving field ? DUNDALKCHOPPER Softball 10 Tue Jun 12, 2012 02:21pm
Shifts newref1 Football 13 Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:26pm
Shifts,Motions and Illegal touching U52 Football 7 Tue Sep 23, 2008 09:46pm
Was 3Man Officiating Crews Designed To Keep Older Out Of Shape Officials Around? Love2ref4Ever Basketball 7 Tue May 15, 2001 02:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1