![]() |
|
|
|||
Jeff according to the case plays it does not matter who landed first, it matters who controlled the ball first. Plain and simple. Even on the case plays for simultaneous catch, the wording is controlled in the air at the same time. It makes NO difference who landed first. In the case play it does NOT say anything about landing first. The only thing the landing has to do with is completing the catch. Both players legally completed the catch so it comes down to who controlled the ball FIRST. If one of them had come down OB, then it would be a different story.
I apologize for using the incorrect term previously, you are correct about that. However, I again stand by the fact that per the case play, if you determine that green bay controlled the ball first, the ruling was incorrect. If you determine that it was simultaneous, the ruling was correct. Again, who landed first is not relevant according to the case play. We will have to agree to disagree on this as I know you won't change my mind and vice versa. |
|
|||
Just as an fyi, here are case plays for simultaneous catch. Note they also do NOT say anything about landing together, just controlling the ball in the air at the same time.
A.R. 8.25 SIMULTANEOUS CATCH First-and-10 on A20. A2 and B3 simultaneously control a pass in the air at the A40. As they land, both players land on their feet and wrestle for the ball on their feet. Eventually, B3 takes the ball away from A2 and is tackled at the A38. Ruling: B’s ball, first-and-10 on A38. Until one of the players in simultaneous possession of the ball goes to the ground or out of bounds, the ball remains alive. A.R. 8.26 SIMULTANEOUS CATCH First-and-10 on A20. A2 and B3 simultaneously control a pass in the air at the A40. As they land, one or both players fall down to the ground. Ruling: A’s ball, first-and-10 on A40. The ball is dead. A.R. 8.27 SIMULTANEOUS CATCH First-and-10 on A20. A2 and B3 simultaneously control a pass in the air at the A40. As they land, one or both players land with one foot out of bounds. Ruling: Second-and-10 on A20. Incomplete pass According to these, if either player had landed OB, the play is an incomplete pass. But none of them say anything about landing first. So Jeff if I'm understanding what you are saying, we know Seattle player landed first. What you are saying is that if green bay had landed OB instead of IB, you would have still ruled the touchdown? |
|
|||
Part of the problem is that it seems like you are not understanding the major point because you do not officiate this sport. Nothing wrong with that, but you are trying to split hairs on issues that ultmately you do not seem to have a grasp of because of your not understanding basic rules. If a player touches out of bound and there is no possession of the football, then the play would be over and ruled out of bounds on the spot. As it relates to a catch, then you cannot have a catch of a pass if this takes place. If one player had possession of the ball and the other is trying to grab at the ball, the play would continue if this took place in the middle of the field. This would be no different if a runner is has the ball and a defender that is trying to tackle them or rip the ball out of their hands is touching the sideline, you do not kill the play. When possession in the EZ is established in-bounds the play is over if the team trying to score a TD has possession.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/football/92493-last-play-gb-seattle.html
|
||||
Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
NFL, Referees Reach Agreement to End Lockout - Catholic Answers Forums | This thread | Refback | Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:19pm | |
The Official 2012 NFL Thread - Page 6 - Corner-Carvers Forums | This thread | Refback | Tue Sep 25, 2012 08:01pm | |
If anyone from the NFL reads here - Page 9 - The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com | This thread | Refback | Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:17am |
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Storm in Seattle | ronald | Softball | 6 | Fri May 22, 2009 12:53pm |
What's This? It doesn't snow in Seattle! | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 39 | Mon Dec 29, 2008 12:06pm |
First base play Seattle Mariners | rainmaker | Baseball | 29 | Tue Aug 14, 2007 06:26am |
Dallas vs. Seattle | mcrowder | Football | 28 | Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:12am |
Boston-Seattle play | PS2Man | Baseball | 12 | Thu Aug 31, 2006 05:33pm |