The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack (3) Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  3 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 02:56am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
I would agree that it is up to individual opinion on who had control of the ball. I don't have a dog in the fight as I don't care for either team, although I fall on the side of the play being an interception. I don't have a problem with the ruling on the field either. The refs are doing the best they can under the circumstances and I commend them for that.
This is not about individual opinion. Jennings was still in the air when the Seattle Receiver came back to the ground with both feet. That is a fact and slow motion even confirms it was not that close (in other words you can clearly see this fact). I also have no dog in this fight, but feel we need to be correct when making rulings and not just giving opinions. Possession cannot happen until you come to the ground and only the NFL requires two feet which Jennings did not have before the Seattle player was grabbing at the ball too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
My problem is someone arguing a point that is not relevant in this play. Both players possessed the ball once on the ground. To secure control, one does not have to have anything on the ground, ie a foot or both feet. That is necessary to obtain possession but not control. In my view of the play, it is obvious that the green bay player controlled the ball prior to Seattle player gaining control. With that mindset, yes the play was ruled incorrectly by time.
If you deem the Seattle player controlled at the same time as green bay player, then you have a simultaneous possession and the ruling on the field was correct.
Someone was on the ground first. That is all I am saying and suggesting. And when the player comes down first, they win. That is why in reality this is not even about a simultaneous catch, it was about the offensive player came down first. And again the definitions in the NFL, NCAA and NF all say possession does not take place until you come down to the ground with possession of the ball.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 03:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Jeff according to the case plays it does not matter who landed first, it matters who controlled the ball first. Plain and simple. Even on the case plays for simultaneous catch, the wording is controlled in the air at the same time. It makes NO difference who landed first. In the case play it does NOT say anything about landing first. The only thing the landing has to do with is completing the catch. Both players legally completed the catch so it comes down to who controlled the ball FIRST. If one of them had come down OB, then it would be a different story.

I apologize for using the incorrect term previously, you are correct about that. However, I again stand by the fact that per the case play, if you determine that green bay controlled the ball first, the ruling was incorrect. If you determine that it was simultaneous, the ruling was correct. Again, who landed first is not relevant according to the case play. We will have to agree to disagree on this as I know you won't change my mind and vice versa.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 03:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Just as an fyi, here are case plays for simultaneous catch. Note they also do NOT say anything about landing together, just controlling the ball in the air at the same time.

A.R. 8.25 SIMULTANEOUS CATCH First-and-10 on A20. A2 and B3 simultaneously control a pass in the air at the A40. As they land, both players land on their feet and wrestle for the ball on their feet. Eventually, B3 takes the ball away from A2 and is tackled at the A38. Ruling: B’s ball, first-and-10 on A38. Until one of the players in simultaneous possession of the ball goes to the ground or out of bounds, the ball remains alive.

A.R. 8.26 SIMULTANEOUS CATCH First-and-10 on A20. A2 and B3 simultaneously control a pass in the air at the A40. As they land, one or both players fall down to the ground. Ruling: A’s ball, first-and-10 on A40. The ball is dead.

A.R. 8.27 SIMULTANEOUS CATCH First-and-10 on A20. A2 and B3 simultaneously control a pass in the air at the A40. As they land, one or both players land with one foot out of bounds. Ruling: Second-and-10 on A20. Incomplete pass

According to these, if either player had landed OB, the play is an incomplete pass. But none of them say anything about landing first.

So Jeff if I'm understanding what you are saying, we know Seattle player landed first. What you are saying is that if green bay had landed OB instead of IB, you would have still ruled the touchdown?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 05:11am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Part of the problem is that it seems like you are not understanding the major point because you do not officiate this sport. Nothing wrong with that, but you are trying to split hairs on issues that ultmately you do not seem to have a grasp of because of your not understanding basic rules. If a player touches out of bound and there is no possession of the football, then the play would be over and ruled out of bounds on the spot. As it relates to a catch, then you cannot have a catch of a pass if this takes place. If one player had possession of the ball and the other is trying to grab at the ball, the play would continue if this took place in the middle of the field. This would be no different if a runner is has the ball and a defender that is trying to tackle them or rip the ball out of their hands is touching the sideline, you do not kill the play. When possession in the EZ is established in-bounds the play is over if the team trying to score a TD has possession.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 07:51am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
Jeff according to the case plays it does not matter who landed first, it matters who controlled the ball first. Plain and simple.
Actually, the case plays are silent on this aspect.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/football/92493-last-play-gb-seattle.html
Posted By For Type Date
NFL, Referees Reach Agreement to End Lockout - Catholic Answers Forums This thread Refback Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:19pm
The Official 2012 NFL Thread - Page 6 - Corner-Carvers Forums This thread Refback Tue Sep 25, 2012 08:01pm
If anyone from the NFL reads here - Page 9 - The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com This thread Refback Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:17am

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Storm in Seattle ronald Softball 6 Fri May 22, 2009 12:53pm
What's This? It doesn't snow in Seattle! IRISHMAFIA Softball 39 Mon Dec 29, 2008 12:06pm
First base play Seattle Mariners rainmaker Baseball 29 Tue Aug 14, 2007 06:26am
Dallas vs. Seattle mcrowder Football 28 Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:12am
Boston-Seattle play PS2Man Baseball 12 Thu Aug 31, 2006 05:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1