![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
You cannot have possession of a football in the air. And the GB player is in the air in the first two pictures.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Take it up with Gerry Austin. He says differently.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Do you know when Gerry Austin was a deep wing?
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
By the way. Whose job is it to go under the hood and make decisions about these types of plays during the normal review? That would be the referee (dumb, but that is an argument for another day). To disparage a guy w Austin's credentials in order to advance your argument is silly.
|
|
|||
|
Jeff, in the NFL rules, per the case book plays cited, you can have possession in the ait. In the first play, the offense, A, controls the ball first and then the defense, B, attains possession and then they go to the ground. A ball. In the second, the defense ,B, gets possession first followed by the offense, A, and then they go to the ground. B ball. Clearly the NFL defines this differently than what your experience is, which means it is different from HS and ncaa.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A.R. 8.28 NOT A SIMULTANEOUS CATCH First-and-10 on A20. A2 controls a pass in the air at the A40. B3 then also gets control of the ball before they land. As they land, A2 and B3 fall down to the ground. Ruling: A’s ball, first-and-10 on A40. Not a simultaneous catch as A2 gains control first and retains control. A.R. 8.29 NOT A SIMULTANEOUS CATCH First-and-10 on A20. B3 controls a pass in the air at the A40 before A2, who then also controls the ball before they land. As they land, A2 and B3 fall down to the ground. Ruling: B’s ball, first-and-10 on A40. Not a simultaneous catch as B3 gains control first and retains control In both plays possession is gained in the air. In the first play "a2 controls a pass in the air" and then B3 gets control " before they land." As they land they fall to the ground...A ball and NOT a simultaneous catch. The second play is worded the same except B3 gets the ball first. I know its hard for you comprehend what I found in the NFL case book, but those arguing that the play should be an interception are correct under the second case play. And BY RULE, they would be correct. |
|
|||
|
I think we are getting control vs. possession mixed up. You can have control in the air, as the case studies have shown. But that doesn't mean you have possession until you come down.
In the case studies cited, if you have clear control in the air and then it's grabbed by a player on the opposing team inbounds, then you don't have dual possession and the person who first had control has possession. The problem here is whether Jennings actually had control while airborne. Tate definitely had a hand on the ball simultaneously with Jennings having two. Either way, we're dealing with a replay issue, in slow motion. I can't see how any official on the field could have anything other than dual possession in realtime. Although they screwed up with the conflicting signals, I believe the initial ruling was correct. Thes slow motion replay review is left up to judgement. Last edited by KMBReferee; Tue Sep 25, 2012 at 02:41am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Without getting into a long argument on that...I totally disagree. OK, one point to make...not saying the call was correct, but since when do officials make a call based on what is going to cause less "water cooler" discussions?
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool. |
|
|||
|
I don't think that was the point, I think that if they both went up with the same call, it would have been less of a talking point...I don't really agree, I think that even if the regulars called this it would be a huge discussion point today.
|
|
|||
|
If GB bats the ball down to the ground or OOB instead of trying to catch the ball, more than likely same would be true.... Nobody would be talking about this right now.
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/football/92493-last-play-gb-seattle.html
|
||||
| Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
| NFL, Referees Reach Agreement to End Lockout - Catholic Answers Forums | This thread | Refback | Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:19pm | |
| The Official 2012 NFL Thread - Page 6 - Corner-Carvers Forums | This thread | Refback | Tue Sep 25, 2012 08:01pm | |
| If anyone from the NFL reads here - Page 9 - The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com | This thread | Refback | Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:17am | |
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Storm in Seattle | ronald | Softball | 6 | Fri May 22, 2009 12:53pm |
| What's This? It doesn't snow in Seattle! | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 39 | Mon Dec 29, 2008 12:06pm |
| First base play Seattle Mariners | rainmaker | Baseball | 29 | Tue Aug 14, 2007 06:26am |
| Dallas vs. Seattle | mcrowder | Football | 28 | Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:12am |
| Boston-Seattle play | PS2Man | Baseball | 12 | Thu Aug 31, 2006 05:33pm |