The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 30, 2012, 02:57pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
So the new play is as follows:
Fourth down and 10 from midfield. K's punt is muffed on the R 40 and rebounds back behind the neutral zone, where K2 picks it up at the K45 yard line, runs to the R48, and throws an incomplete pass to ineligible K79. Where will the ball be put in play next?
The ineligible downfield (if K79 was downfield) and illegal touching (if K79 touched the pass) are ignored since we have an illegal forward pass. K's recovery and advance are legal. The foul for IFP will be enforced from the spot of the foul, 5 yards, back to the K47. IFP carries a LOD, so it will be R's ball, 1/10 @ K47, clock on the snap.
I hope you meant "K's ball".

This is realistically a COP play, and the LOD aspect of the penalty has no effect.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 30, 2012, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
I hope you meant "K's ball".

This is realistically a COP play, and the LOD aspect of the penalty has no effect.
When did team possession change?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 30, 2012, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
When did team possession change?
No need to be obtuse... he didn't say possession changed, he said it was realistically a COP play. Probably not the best word, I'd have gone with essentially instead of realistically. But you know what he meant.

(And if you don't ... answer my question, I was going to the same place he was, I was just trying to walk the poster there instead of just giving the answer).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 30, 2012, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
No need to be obtuse... he didn't say possession changed, he said it was realistically a COP play. Probably not the best word, I'd have gone with essentially instead of realistically. But you know what he meant.
Actually I didn't, but if i'd been more awake when I read it, I would've. I'd misread a detail of what he wrote, got onto the wrong track.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 31, 2012, 05:54am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Evidently, I should have used the phrase "For enforcement purposes, this is a COP play".
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 31, 2012, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Actually I didn't, but if i'd been more awake when I read it, I would've. I'd misread a detail of what he wrote, got onto the wrong track.
Cool.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 31, 2012, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 45
If it a complete pass to K79 do we take ignore the OPI and take IFP or vica verca?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 31, 2012, 01:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 109
Ok... I know the original question was Federation rules but since I'm back and still working IFAF/NCAA rules here in Brasil, I gotta ask about this situation...
muffed kick beyond NZ bounces back behind NZ, R picks it up and passes forward from behind NZ

That's a legal pass in NCAA/IFAF?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 31, 2012, 01:46pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtridge View Post
If it a complete pass to K79 do we take ignore the OPI and take IFP or vica verca?
No, you don't ignore it. But you do call the correct foul.

If K79 has done nothing other than catch the ball, it's Illegal Touching, not OPI.

Same penalty yardage, although the basic spot for the IT would be the previous spot. You still can't enforce the LOD provision.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 02, 2012, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 45
It would be a OPI. Case book 7.5.13 If ineligible catches the ball beyond the LOS it is OPI
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS calling "play ball" after dead ball shipwreck Softball 2 Thu Aug 04, 2011 09:11pm
Ball four, runners moving, pass ball, out of play... JasonWilliam Baseball 14 Mon Oct 19, 2009 09:50pm
Post Script to: "I played pro ball! Did you play pro ball?" Kevin Finnerty Baseball 46 Sat May 23, 2009 05:58pm
"Wrong ball" play makes it to Pee-Wee ball OverAndBack Football 32 Sat Sep 22, 2007 03:00pm
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1