![]() |
|
|
|||
Are you actually suggesting that pulling the jersey of a teammate, in possession of a live ball, forward would not violate 9-1-1, "An offensive player shall not push, pull or lift the runner to assist his forward progress"?
|
|
|||
Are you serious? The head bone's connected to the neck bone, etc.
|
|
|||
And the Pac-10 officials didn't have the stones to call the Bush Push:
USC Steals One At South Bend! (2005) - YouTube Indeed, I've yet to see it called at the college level. If they won't call it when it is that clear and blatant, why would they call it on a pile? |
|
|||
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight Last edited by bigjohn; Mon Nov 14, 2011 at 05:23pm. |
|
|||
In Ohio it doesn't get called when it is blatantly the back running up and pushing the QB forward on a short yardage play. Most guys coach the backs to do that knowing it won't get called.
I know no one is going to call it if there is a scrum of any kind.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight |
|
|||
Rogers Redding's latest NCAA Bulletin addresses this issue:
In trying to gain yardage, ball carrier A44 is slowed by defensive players attempting to make the tackle. Back A22 (a) puts his hands on the buttocks of A44 and pushes him forward; (b) pushes the pile of teammates who begin to surround A44; (c) grabs the arm of A44 and tries to pull him forward for more yardage. RULING: (a) and (c) Foul for assisting the runner. 5-yard penalty with three-and-one enforcement. (b) Legal play. It is not clear that A22 is directly assisting A44. (9-3-2-b) |
|
|||
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight Last edited by bigjohn; Wed Nov 16, 2011 at 10:54am. |
|
|||
Absent a specific FED case play, I'd say the philosophy given by Dr. Redding's ruling would work well for those calling NFHS games.
Last edited by CT1; Thu Nov 17, 2011 at 08:18am. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() This was exactly the kind of thing that popped into my mind when I first read the OP. |
|
|||
The OP said the player was pulling THE PILE. I assumed this meant "not the runner". The rule you describe makes it illegal to pull the teammate IN POSSESSION OF A LIVE BALL... but not just some random player in the pile.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight |
|
|||
red #39 is pulling the pile!
It is not illegal because he is on defense, but he is pulling the pile! ![]() There should be a flag on this play though and most of you would not throw it. More than one A player is pushing the pile and helping the runner. That is the spirit of the rule.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Pile in the endzone & Ball belongs to ... | ML99 | Football | 13 | Sun Nov 01, 2009 08:35am |
Pulling up the pants | refnrev | Basketball | 24 | Tue Feb 17, 2009 09:08am |
Moving Pile | MI Official | Football | 12 | Sun Oct 14, 2007 03:56pm |
Pulling the Trigger | dddunn3d | Baseball | 5 | Thu Apr 28, 2005 01:54pm |
Pulling Player to the floor | LepTalBldgs | Basketball | 4 | Fri Jan 07, 2005 07:54pm |