The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2011, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, WY
Posts: 37
Illegal forward pass on 4th down

A1 is running for the goal line on 4th down, as he's getting tackled he throws the ball forward from the 3 yd. line and A2 catches it in the endzone.
B has to take the penalty to keep the score from happening. So is it 1st and 10 from the 8 for team B?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2011, 11:38am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyo-referee View Post
A1 is running for the goal line on 4th down, as he's getting tackled he throws the ball forward from the 3 yd. line and A2 catches it in the endzone.
B has to take the penalty to keep the score from happening. So is it 1st and 10 from the 8 for team B?
I'm assuming it was 4th and goal and the pass was from beyond the line of scrimmage (or an otherwise illegal pass).

Yes. 1st and 10 for B on the 8 yard line.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2011, 01:07pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,035
Note that even though a pass was thrown, this is a running play. Basic spot is end of the run (where the QB threw from). 5 yard penalty plus loss of down.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2011, 01:13pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,984
It depends where the line to gain was. Did they make the line to gain after the penalty was enforced? If so, 1st and 10 for A 5 yards from the spot of the foul. If not, then 1st and 10 for B 5 yards from the spot of the foul.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2011, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
It depends where the line to gain was. Did they make the line to gain after the penalty was enforced? If so, 1st and 10 for A 5 yards from the spot of the foul. If not, then 1st and 10 for B 5 yards from the spot of the foul.
Good point: just because the foul carries loss of down, A can keep the ball if they achieve the LTG after enforcement.

Loss of down is not an automatic turnover on 4th down, it is simply that we will not replay 4th down.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2011, 01:56pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,984
Small correction if they made the LTG, it will be 1st and Goal for A in this situation.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2011, 02:15pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
It depends where the line to gain was. Did they make the line to gain after the penalty was enforced? If so, 1st and 10 for A 5 yards from the spot of the foul. If not, then 1st and 10 for B 5 yards from the spot of the foul.
It's why I added the assumption I made. The spot of the illegal pass would have to be 5 yards beyond the LTG for A to keep the football.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2011, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,683
And the period is not extended.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2011, 05:06pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
And the period is not extended.
Right. This is the loophole the NFHS closed when they eliminated accepted LOD fouls as one that require an untimed down be played.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 05, 2011, 06:57am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyo-referee View Post
A1 is running for the goal line on 4th down, as he's getting tackled he throws the ball forward from the 3 yd. line and A2 catches it in the endzone.
B has to take the penalty to keep the score from happening. So is it 1st and 10 from the 8 for team B?
CANADIAN RULING:

If it's possible that the ball carrier thought he was behind the line of scrimmage, but was beyond the line of scrimmage, enforce as an illegal forward pass. 10 yards from the PLS, repeat the down.

Otherwise, enforce as an offside pass subject to penalty. Downs continue at the spot of forward pass. Note that this is a "violation", and not a foul, therefore Team A (or B if yards were not gained) does not get one more play should time expire during this play. Since it was 4th down, we need to look to see if yards were gained at the 3 yard line. If so, A gets a new series; and if not, it is B's ball providing that time did not expire during the play.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Forward Pass? BktBallRef Football 15 Wed May 16, 2007 12:45pm
Illegal Forward Pass MLE Football 14 Tue Oct 12, 2004 02:23pm
Illegal forward pass Rich Football 9 Fri Sep 03, 2004 09:02pm
Pass Interference on an Illegal Forward Pass OverAndBack Football 8 Mon Aug 23, 2004 03:11pm
Illegal forward pass carmstrong Football 2 Tue Jan 21, 2003 07:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1