![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
In 4 man, a lot of the B responsibilities can be and should be covered by U, depending on how deep they occur. I have no problem with U calling a PI that he is sure of, and would not consider this poaching a call.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
I would think it would be fine for the U to make this call. As the Linesman on both a 4 and 5 person crew, there are many PI calls that from my angle I cannot see, and I really have a great Back Judge who helps with a bunch of those calls, in the 4 man games, that would be the U.
Lots of times, I might be shielded from contact if it occurs on the other side of the receiver, so that's something the U in 4 man and the BJ in 5 man can clearly see being in the middle of the field. I would never be upset if a flag came from one of my partners, they are there to see the different angles, just because I might be the closest does not mean I can see everything. |
|
|||
|
FWIW, this wasn't an underneath route. The play happened about 4-5 yards from the sideline and about 15 yards from the LOS and the corner was playing behind the receiver. I think the U was straightlined pretty badly, which is one reason why I thought he shouldn't have thrown the flag. The wing guy was moving toward the play and had what looked like a great angle from the side. (The same angle I had since I was standing right behind him)
I could see throwing the flag if it's a route somewhere in the middle of the field. (Drag, dig, maybe a post) It just appeared that he poached the wing official's call based on where they both were and where the play occured. Thanks for the replies. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
There's nothing wrong with the U making this call. You asked, you don't like the answer. So be it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
No, I didn't agree with it, but I let it go until our guy was held twice right in front of the U and neither were called. |
|
|||
|
The "rest of the story" still isn't relevant, so why bring it up?
But since you did....prior to a pass being thrown, the U isn't going to be looking at TE/LB action, the U's primary responsibility is to watch the blocking action of the interior linemen (Center, Guards, and Tackle on the R's side). In a 4-man system, the TE/LB action isn't going to be in the primary focus of anyone initially, especially if there are receivers outside of the tight end. Them's the breaks of only having 4 sets of eyes to watch 22 players. So you decided to whine/complain to the officials at the game and to us because the U threw a flag in an area that is his responsibility, but then didn't throw a flag for something that's not part of his area of responsibility. Stay classy, coach. Last edited by jTheUmp; Wed Oct 05, 2011 at 11:07am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Pylon Mechanics Crew of 5 | Reffing Rev. | Football | 9 | Tue Oct 26, 2010 05:02pm |
| Crew and Referee Mechanics - Penalty Enforcement | john_faz | Football | 13 | Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:35am |
| Obstruction Mechanics - 2 man crew | WestMichBlue | Softball | 11 | Sat Nov 19, 2005 05:48pm |
| High School Football 5 Man Crew Officiating Mechanics | Green | Football | 0 | Sun Aug 29, 2004 01:09pm |
| 3 man crew- NBA or NCAA mechanics | NICK | Basketball | 8 | Mon Jun 09, 2003 10:22pm |