The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2011, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW OH
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
A kick that is jointly possessed belongs to R (6-1-5, 6-2-7), but your situation describes a muffed snap and not a kick. So a joint recovery belongs to K. The result of your play is a safety (7-4-3c).
My initial reaction was that you're right, and I still think that, but am having an issue with the wording of the rule. So, if someone can help me wrap my head around this I'd appreciate it.

7-4-3(c): ...The ball belongs to the passing or fumbling team unless lost after fourth down if a fumble or backward pass: (c) becomes dead inbounds while opponents are in joint possession.

The "after fourth down" part is what I think I'm having the issue with. This is not "after fourth down" because it's still part of the fourth down play?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touchdown? red Football 8 Mon Sep 14, 2009 05:42pm
Safety or No Safety that is the question BrasoFuerte Football 14 Sun Sep 02, 2007 05:15pm
touchdown or not rgraham Football 2 Tue Nov 15, 2005 02:53pm
DPI on Touchdown jrfath Football 1 Mon Nov 15, 2004 09:06am
First down/Touchdown TriggerMN Football 7 Fri Sep 19, 2003 12:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1