The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 25, 2011, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchamp View Post
K is also permitted a holder who may be in the neutral zone. If the holder were to stand over the ball and then toss it back for it to be used as a drop kick, would the holder then still be encroaching?
I agree that these kicks need to be addressed. I also recognize the exception allowed for a holder to encroach without penalty.

However, a holder by definition holds the ball, and his permission to encroach covers only the holding of the ball: he may not be a runner or passer. So, no, I don't regard the play you reference as legal.

As I read the rule, once the ball is placed on a tee, the next legal touch by K must either be a hold or a kick. Intentionally removing the ball from the tee is not legal.

When NFHS revises rule 6 and makes these kicks either clearly legal or clearly illegal, or when I get definitive guidance from the state, I will be happy to conform to that rule or guidance.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drop Kick wisref2 Football 7 Wed Oct 13, 2010 09:36am
Drop kick BigFarns Football 8 Wed Oct 05, 2005 04:57pm
Drop third strike reed2310 Softball 11 Sun Jun 09, 2002 05:36pm
Drop 3rd w/ Runner on 1st BlueGhost_Scout Baseball 2 Wed Apr 03, 2002 08:24am
Drop Kick Smoke Football 6 Sun Nov 11, 2001 09:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1