![]() |
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
B will decline A's illegal formation, and A will accept B's illegal block. It will be B's 1D, 10 yards back from where the ball was when the IB occurred.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
First off in the original play I am assuming when B fumbles it is going into team A end zone.
I think we can all agree if B accepts the penalty for IF and A accepts the penalty BIB we will be replaying the down. If team B declines the penalty for IF, by rule the have recovered the ball with "clean hands". The penalty for BIB occurs behind the runner who is going into the endzone to score. If he were to score a TD or tackled before scoring we would enforce the penalty from the penalty flag aka spot of the foul. 10 yards 1st and 10 team B BUT The catch here is the fumble. Lets say there is no flag and the team B player going into the endzone of team A fumbles the football into and out of the endzone we have a touchback rewarded to team A. SO Team A would in the play have to decline the penalty of Team Bs BIB to take the results of the play. With that all being said and as I have probably confused you and myself- 1. If team B accepts the penalty of IF on team A, then team A will accept the penalty on team B BIB and replay the down. 2. If team B declines the penalty of IF on team A, then team could decline the penalty of BIB on team B and should get the ball 1st and 10 on the 20 yard line. sidenote if for some reason Team B declines, and team A accepts BIB then team B would get the ball 10 yards from the spot of the foul for BIB and 1st and 10.
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!" |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I'm a new football official so be easy on me
![]() I am going to re-hash the OP with arbitrary yardlines to keep everything straight in my mind. A’s, 2 and 10 from B’s 20. Team A snaps the ball with 6 men on the line. During the run, A1 fumbles. B1 recovers the ball and starts running. During B1's run, B2 commits an illegal block in the back (spot foul at A’s 35). Near A’s goal line, B1 fumbles the ball, which bounces into and then out of the back of A’s end zone. 1.) B’s was the last to possess the ball before it when into A’s goal and subsequently OOB. No other force caused the ball into the endzone and OOB therefore it is a touchback. Team A will have possession of the ball after the touchback (if there were no penalties). 2.) Since Team A would put the ball in play next, they must decide on their penalty first (IBB). a. If Team A accepts IBB i. and Team B accepts the IF, it would be a double foul and the down would be replayed (A’s ball, 2nd and 10 from B’s 20) ii. and Team B declines the IF, it would be Team B’s ball 10 yards from the spot of the IBB (B’s ball, 1st and 10 at A’s 45) b. If Team A declines the IBB i. and Team B accepts the IF, it would be Team A's ball 5 yards from the previous spot and replay the down (A's ball, 2nd and 15 from B's 25) Ok, now murder my thinking… In basketball, I would have called a travel before the crash and no foulii. and Team B declines the IF, it would be a touchback (A’s ball, 1st and 10 from A’s 20) ![]() |
|
|||
I guess my question is, who decides their part of the penalty enforcement first? Isn't it Team A since they would have the ball as result of the play (minus the penalties)?
-Josh |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Enforcement During OT | Redneck Ref | Football | 3 | Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:30pm |
Right Enforcement? | kytank | Football | 61 | Sun Oct 04, 2009 08:04am |
Enforcement | mvp2jeter | Football | 9 | Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:44am |
Is this a PSK Enforcement? | jrfath | Football | 5 | Fri Sep 03, 2004 05:31pm |
PSK Enforcement | Bubba10Dara | Football | 8 | Wed Oct 01, 2003 03:26pm |