The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2011, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Honestly, having trouble seeing this as illegal in any ruleset. At worst, it's a planned loose ball. I doubt that a single one of you would rule an illegal snap if a center fouled up a shotgun snap to the degree that it never left the ground ... especially if B recovered it. Nothing in the definition of pass requires the ball begin off the ground or leave the ground at any point.
Fully agree.

ART. 1 . . . A snap is the legal act of passing or handing the ball backward from its position on the ground. (THAT REQUIREMENT HAS BEEN MET)
ART. 2 . . . The snap begins when the snapper first moves the ball legally other than in adjustment. In a snap, the movement must be a quick and continuous backward motion of the ball during which the ball immediately leaves the hand(s) of the snapper and touches a back or the ground before touching any A lineman. (THIS REQUIREMENT HAS BEEN MET)....
ART. 3 . . . The snap ends when the ball touches the ground or any player.... (THIS REQUIREMENT HAS BEEN MET...and the ball is now a loose ball the second it leaves the snapper's hand(s)
__________________
"Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups...."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2011, 02:13pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
The question begs, what age group are we talking about here?

If its youth ball, I'd say there would be more latitude to let this go if it was on shaky legal ground. Unless of course some Mad Genius youth coach () came up with is as an acutal strategy.

Either is in the realm of possibility.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2011, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
ok here we go LOL

MB yes I would and have shut the play down if the snapper makes such a bad snap that it rolls on the ground.

This was a JV game.

We missed one, and penalized one, and had a couple other "questionable" snaps.

The fact that it must leave his hand/s before touching the ground is where we hung our hat. It did NOT leave his hand/s prior to touching the ground. It never was airborne so it wasn't passing the ball, it wasn't handed to anyone so it wasn't handing it. There fore it wasn't a legal snap.

MB in your situation where the ball carrier trys to shuffle the ball and loses it, well...I have a fumble. He meant to pass it but didn't get it done and lost possession, so I have a fumble in your situation.
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2011, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmathews View Post
The fact that it must leave his hand/s before touching the ground is where we hung our hat. It did NOT leave his hand/s prior to touching the ground.
Quote:
ball immediately leaves the hand(s) of the snapper and touches a back or the ground
And. Not prior to. Just AND.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2011, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
article 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
And. Not prior to. Just AND.
Article 1 says it is an act of passing or handing.....he certainly doesn't hand it...so did he pass it? passing requires flight, it didn't ever leave the ground so it wasn't a pass. If it isn't passing or handing it isn't a legal snap.
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 14, 2011, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
I agree if the snapper just spins the ball and rolls it, it is illegal snap, but he lofts it just a bit and rotates his wrist to make the ball land and roll it is legal.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 14, 2011, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
I agree if the snapper just spins the ball and rolls it, it is illegal snap, but he lofts it just a bit and rotates his wrist to make the ball land and roll it is legal.
Seems to me we're picking nits that were not intended by the rulesmakers (not that I was in the room!). What would be the purpose of insisting that the ball leave the ground infinitessimally during a snap? Sounds like we're just creatively trying to force an admittedly undefined section of the rule to fit the answer you want, rather than deriving the answer from the rules themselves.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 14, 2011, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
I agree if the snapper just spins the ball and rolls it, it is illegal snap, but he lofts it just a bit and rotates his wrist to make the ball land and roll it is legal.
The question in the OP concerned whether rolling the ball during the snap is legal. The answer, by rule, is no, because rolling the ball is neither handing nor passing.

If you're looking for a way around that, fine, but it doesn't change the answer. As an official, I'll be looking to see whether the snapper hands or passes the ball backward and otherwise complies with the snap requirements. As an official, I will use my judgment and decide whether to flag a snap as illegal.

Sometimes, you just gotta officiate.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 14, 2011, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
The question begs, what age group are we talking about here?

If its youth ball, I'd say there would be more latitude to let this go if it was on shaky legal ground. Unless of course some Mad Genius youth coach () came up with is as an acutal strategy.
This has been a topic of serious discussion lately in youth coaching circles, yes.

In Wyatt's wildcat formation (a double wing version of the double/dual T, i.e. 2 QBs close to the snapper) a rolling snap was considered acceptable coaching-wise, although it wasn't coached deliberately.

In the discussion I mentioned above, Coach Doug (who also officiates sometimes) said that he'd only flag it if if appeared to intentionally be rolled all the way. If it got off the ground at all, it's legal no matter how far it subsequently rolled, and even if it didn't get off the ground, if it looked like a slip in an attempt to make a legal snap, he'd let it go.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1