The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 09, 2011, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Here's a doozy for ya

Texas 6man football sub varsity (NCAA rules other than 6man differences).

On a PAT, Team B player gets to the tee/ball before the kicker from Team A and proceeds to boot the ball 30 yards down the field in the opposite direction for no apparent reason. In the ensuing melee, coaches from Team B see the tee fly up and get a glimpse of it, and suggest that the tee used by Team A - which is actually two tees taped together, is illegal. Note that the tees are not stacked, they are taped together side by side, thus they don't technically violate the specs listed in the manual (that I can see, anyway).

What the heck is the result of this play?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 09, 2011, 04:22pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

CANADIAN RULING:

Illegal Equipment. Penalty on ensuing kick-off.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 09, 2011, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by OakTree View Post
Texas 6man football sub varsity (NCAA rules other than 6man differences).

On a PAT, Team B player gets to the tee/ball before the kicker from Team A and proceeds to boot the ball 30 yards down the field in the opposite direction for no apparent reason. In the ensuing melee, coaches from Team B see the tee fly up and get a glimpse of it, and suggest that the tee used by Team A - which is actually two tees taped together, is illegal. Note that the tees are not stacked, they are taped together side by side, thus they don't technically violate the specs listed in the manual (that I can see, anyway).

What the heck is the result of this play?
In NFHS, 1-3-4 simply has the requirements for the tee that it be "of pliable material" and that it elevates the lowest point of the ball no more than two inches above the ground. No mention is made about altering a commercially manufactured kicking tee to suit your needs, or about tees that are not permitted. I don't have the college rules, but I would imagine there is a difference--the devil is in the details.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 09, 2011, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
OK, but what about the illegal (in NCAA) place kick by B? Or is it legal because it was not preceded by a CoP and the ball was still behind A's line of scrimmage? Could it have scored a point for B? Or, since it's 6-man, 2 points?

Last edited by Robert Goodman; Fri Sep 09, 2011 at 08:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 09, 2011, 11:24pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Wow what a weird play.

The only thing in the UIL exceptions about the tee is that it can't elevate the ball more than 2" above the ground.

This is also illegally kick the ball by Team B and no, it can't score any points.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 10, 2011, 12:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Illegal kick. The ball remains live because Team A has not kicked it. Team B kicking it does not cause the ball to be dead. If B gains possession of the ball it becomes dead. The holder is the last player from Team A in possession and when the ball is kicked by team B, only the holder can recover to keep the ball live for a possible advance by pass or maybe exchange it with a teammate. If a teammate recovers it, the ball becomes dead (4th down fumble rules). The penalty for the illegal kick is enforced at the previous spot and the Try repeated.

As for the size of the tee. Techincally they could bring a 12 ft. 2 x 4 out there as long as it don't violate the maximum height requirements. There are no other dimensional requirements other than the height.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 10:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX View Post
Illegal kick. The ball remains live because Team A has not kicked it. Team B kicking it does not cause the ball to be dead. If B gains possession of the ball it becomes dead. The holder is the last player from Team A in possession and when the ball is kicked by team B, only the holder can recover to keep the ball live for a possible advance by pass or maybe exchange it with a teammate. If a teammate recovers it, the ball becomes dead (4th down fumble rules). The penalty for the illegal kick is enforced at the previous spot and the Try repeated.

As for the size of the tee. Techincally they could bring a 12 ft. 2 x 4 out there as long as it don't violate the maximum height requirements. There are no other dimensional requirements other than the height.
I actually used the same example you did about the 1"x4" that didn't violate height. It seems common sense to me that that wouldn't be allowed, but as you mentioned, only the height is referenced specifically in the manual, so I'm not sure what I'd say to the coach who tried to use it.

What about this stipulation earlier in the manual, could it be applied?
Field Areas
ARTICLE 9. a. No material or device shall be used to improve or degrade the
playing surface or other conditions and give one player or team an advantage
(Exceptions: Rules 2-16-4-b and c).

OR

Illegal Equipment
ARTICLE 7. Illegal equipment includes the following (See Appendix E for
additional details):
f. Any equipment that could provide an unfair advantage to any player.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
You wimps these days with your lumber...we used to kick off a brick, and we liked it!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 10:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by OakTree View Post
I actually used the same example you did about the 1"x4" that didn't violate height. It seems common sense to me that that wouldn't be allowed, but as you mentioned, only the height is referenced specifically in the manual, so I'm not sure what I'd say to the coach who tried to use it.

What about this stipulation earlier in the manual, could it be applied?
Field Areas
ARTICLE 9. a. No material or device shall be used to improve or degrade the
playing surface or other conditions and give one player or team an advantage
(Exceptions: Rules 2-16-4-b and c).

OR

Illegal Equipment
ARTICLE 7. Illegal equipment includes the following (See Appendix E for
additional details):
f. Any equipment that could provide an unfair advantage to any player.
It's not degrading the surface. That would be if he brought a device out there to dig some of the grass off the field. If he brings out a garden tool tool to "fix" the field to place his "1x4" on then we have issues.

The equipment rule is not there either. He's not gaining any unfair advantage. That would be more like using a tub of lard on his jersey or putting stickem on his gloves. Nothing to do with a kicking tee.

We have bigger fish to fry than worrying about the width of a tee.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by OakTree View Post
I actually used the same example you did about the 1"x4" that didn't violate height. It seems common sense to me that that wouldn't be allowed, but as you mentioned, only the height is referenced specifically in the manual, so I'm not sure what I'd say to the coach who tried to use it.

What about this stipulation earlier in the manual, could it be applied?
Field Areas
ARTICLE 9. a. No material or device shall be used to improve or degrade the
playing surface or other conditions and give one player or team an advantage
(Exceptions: Rules 2-16-4-b and c).

OR

Illegal Equipment
ARTICLE 7. Illegal equipment includes the following (See Appendix E for
additional details):
f. Any equipment that could provide an unfair advantage to any player.
Whatever this tee looks like, it could not possibly have been used to improve or degrade the playing surface ... so let's ignore that, as it's silly.

To invoke 7f, you have to define "unfair" ... and since the definition of tee tells you what is "fair" - and this concoction fits within that definition... there is no reason to rule the "device" as creating an unfair advantage. Tee is legal. The kick is not. Most likely we're having a rekick at half the distance.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
Wait a minute, you saying that if I really used a brick as a kicking tee there'd be nothing you could stop that with? Is Fed's the only code that specifies pliable material? Nothing in NCAA about having dangerous items on the field? What if I wanted to kick off a bear trap?

Last edited by Robert Goodman; Fri Sep 16, 2011 at 03:04pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 17, 2011, 04:52am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Wait a minute, you saying that if I really used a brick as a kicking tee there'd be nothing you could stop that with? Is Fed's the only code that specifies pliable material? Nothing in NCAA about having dangerous items on the field? What if I wanted to kick off a bear trap?
Not permissible. Safety always comes first and those pieces of equipment are unsafe.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 17, 2011, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
You don't think that the holder pegging the ball down on a 6"x3" surface is easier to do than if he were trying to peg it down on a 3"x3" surface? It seems inherent to me that it provides an advantage, otherwise why would the guy be doing it?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 17, 2011, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX View Post
We have bigger fish to fry than worrying about the width of a tee.
I'm with you on that one. The last thing I wanted to be talking about in the 4th quarter of a tight game. I think if I had been the white hat I would have told him to buzz off. But - it did get me thinking. Appreciate all the replies here.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 17, 2011, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
This actually isn't an illegal kick, but illegally kicking the ball. In the NCAA code, there is a difference. And the ball isn't dead (11 man; under 6 man exceptions the ball is dead IMMEDIATELY since Team A can not score) until the end of the play, not necessarily Team B possession, because it isn't a "kick" but rather, a fumble and loose ball because the holder lost possession of it. Its a 10 yard basic spot foul, but you would enforce from the previous spot. In this case, it would be half the distance.

As Jason said, the dimensions of the tee is irrelevant. Unless the officials perceive the device as being dangerous, and it isn't over 2" (Texas UIL; NCAA by rule its prohibited except on kickoff), we're OK.

I have actually seen this -- in an 11 man jr. high game about 4 years ago. Defensive lineman broke through and got to the held ball before the kicker did and kicked it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My first media mention! (yes, its a doozy!) TussAgee11 Baseball 13 Sun Jul 20, 2008 11:14am
A Doozy of a Rule Question UMP25 Baseball 27 Sun Sep 04, 2005 10:21am
Doozy tonight oppool Softball 4 Sat May 19, 2001 07:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1