View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 08:46am
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by OakTree View Post
I actually used the same example you did about the 1"x4" that didn't violate height. It seems common sense to me that that wouldn't be allowed, but as you mentioned, only the height is referenced specifically in the manual, so I'm not sure what I'd say to the coach who tried to use it.

What about this stipulation earlier in the manual, could it be applied?
Field Areas
ARTICLE 9. a. No material or device shall be used to improve or degrade the
playing surface or other conditions and give one player or team an advantage
(Exceptions: Rules 2-16-4-b and c).

OR

Illegal Equipment
ARTICLE 7. Illegal equipment includes the following (See Appendix E for
additional details):
f. Any equipment that could provide an unfair advantage to any player.
Whatever this tee looks like, it could not possibly have been used to improve or degrade the playing surface ... so let's ignore that, as it's silly.

To invoke 7f, you have to define "unfair" ... and since the definition of tee tells you what is "fair" - and this concoction fits within that definition... there is no reason to rule the "device" as creating an unfair advantage. Tee is legal. The kick is not. Most likely we're having a rekick at half the distance.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote