View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 10:57pm
JasonTX JasonTX is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by OakTree View Post
I actually used the same example you did about the 1"x4" that didn't violate height. It seems common sense to me that that wouldn't be allowed, but as you mentioned, only the height is referenced specifically in the manual, so I'm not sure what I'd say to the coach who tried to use it.

What about this stipulation earlier in the manual, could it be applied?
Field Areas
ARTICLE 9. a. No material or device shall be used to improve or degrade the
playing surface or other conditions and give one player or team an advantage
(Exceptions: Rules 2-16-4-b and c).

OR

Illegal Equipment
ARTICLE 7. Illegal equipment includes the following (See Appendix E for
additional details):
f. Any equipment that could provide an unfair advantage to any player.
It's not degrading the surface. That would be if he brought a device out there to dig some of the grass off the field. If he brings out a garden tool tool to "fix" the field to place his "1x4" on then we have issues.

The equipment rule is not there either. He's not gaining any unfair advantage. That would be more like using a tub of lard on his jersey or putting stickem on his gloves. Nothing to do with a kicking tee.

We have bigger fish to fry than worrying about the width of a tee.
Reply With Quote