View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 09, 2011, 05:04pm
jchamp jchamp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by OakTree View Post
Texas 6man football sub varsity (NCAA rules other than 6man differences).

On a PAT, Team B player gets to the tee/ball before the kicker from Team A and proceeds to boot the ball 30 yards down the field in the opposite direction for no apparent reason. In the ensuing melee, coaches from Team B see the tee fly up and get a glimpse of it, and suggest that the tee used by Team A - which is actually two tees taped together, is illegal. Note that the tees are not stacked, they are taped together side by side, thus they don't technically violate the specs listed in the manual (that I can see, anyway).

What the heck is the result of this play?
In NFHS, 1-3-4 simply has the requirements for the tee that it be "of pliable material" and that it elevates the lowest point of the ball no more than two inches above the ground. No mention is made about altering a commercially manufactured kicking tee to suit your needs, or about tees that are not permitted. I don't have the college rules, but I would imagine there is a difference--the devil is in the details.
Reply With Quote