![]() |
|
|
|||
Here's a doozy for ya
Texas 6man football sub varsity (NCAA rules other than 6man differences).
On a PAT, Team B player gets to the tee/ball before the kicker from Team A and proceeds to boot the ball 30 yards down the field in the opposite direction for no apparent reason. In the ensuing melee, coaches from Team B see the tee fly up and get a glimpse of it, and suggest that the tee used by Team A - which is actually two tees taped together, is illegal. Note that the tees are not stacked, they are taped together side by side, thus they don't technically violate the specs listed in the manual (that I can see, anyway). What the heck is the result of this play? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
OK, but what about the illegal (in NCAA) place kick by B? Or is it legal because it was not preceded by a CoP and the ball was still behind A's line of scrimmage? Could it have scored a point for B? Or, since it's 6-man, 2 points?
Last edited by Robert Goodman; Fri Sep 09, 2011 at 08:37pm. |
|
|||
Wow what a weird play.
The only thing in the UIL exceptions about the tee is that it can't elevate the ball more than 2" above the ground. This is also illegally kick the ball by Team B and no, it can't score any points.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Illegal kick. The ball remains live because Team A has not kicked it. Team B kicking it does not cause the ball to be dead. If B gains possession of the ball it becomes dead. The holder is the last player from Team A in possession and when the ball is kicked by team B, only the holder can recover to keep the ball live for a possible advance by pass or maybe exchange it with a teammate. If a teammate recovers it, the ball becomes dead (4th down fumble rules). The penalty for the illegal kick is enforced at the previous spot and the Try repeated.
As for the size of the tee. Techincally they could bring a 12 ft. 2 x 4 out there as long as it don't violate the maximum height requirements. There are no other dimensional requirements other than the height. |
|
|||
Quote:
What about this stipulation earlier in the manual, could it be applied? Field Areas ARTICLE 9. a. No material or device shall be used to improve or degrade the playing surface or other conditions and give one player or team an advantage (Exceptions: Rules 2-16-4-b and c). OR Illegal Equipment ARTICLE 7. Illegal equipment includes the following (See Appendix E for additional details): f. Any equipment that could provide an unfair advantage to any player. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
My first media mention! (yes, its a doozy!) | TussAgee11 | Baseball | 13 | Sun Jul 20, 2008 11:14am |
A Doozy of a Rule Question | UMP25 | Baseball | 27 | Sun Sep 04, 2005 10:21am |
Doozy tonight | oppool | Softball | 4 | Sat May 19, 2001 07:57am |