The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 02, 2003, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally posted by JMN
Andrew,

I reread it and it does say "such motion" which I guess refers back to the previous mention in the sentence. Right?

If so, then a back could position himself 20 yards behind the LOS and begin motion towards B's goal line. As long as he didn't appear to be false starting and if he turned and ran parallel with the line (say 5 yards behind his LOS) at the time of the snap, this would be legal?

Sounds weird to me.

I guess the question on the rule is whether the "such motion" clause refers to "at the time of snap" or anytime during his motion. My take would be anytime he is in motion he can't run towards B's goal line. That's the way I understand it.

Anyone else care to clarify?
I found my NFHS Rule Book!!!!

Rule 7 - Not more than one A player may be in motion at the snap and then only if such motion is not toward's B's goal line.

Aboselli,
Not to dig up old posts but just wanted to say check out rule 7-5-10a. It talks about pass interference and players entitlement to maintain a position on the field.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1