Thread: Illegal Motion?
View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 04, 2003, 01:22am
Derock1986 Derock1986 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally posted by ABoselli
....7-5-10a. It talks about pass interference and players entitlement to maintain a position on the field.

It does? Are we looking at the same book? Mine reads..

..Art. 10...It is forward pass interference if:
a. Any player of A or B who is beyond the neutral zone interferes with an eligible opponents opportunity to move toward, catch or bat the pass


Where's the part about being entitled to maintain a position on the field? As I recall I kep repeating the phrase 'move toward, catch or bat the pass'. Whether you're standing there or moving and you do that, interference has occurred. Maybe yours reads different?
The book I'm referencing is the NFHS simplified and illustrated rule book. It has an illustration 7-5-10a that shows a defender (B50) running into a receiver (A85) who is just standing there. Underneath the illustration it reads, "The contact by No. 50 constitutes defensive pass interference. No. 85 is entitled to his position and is entitled to maintain that position on the field."

This illustration uses the defender as the offender but certainly the same rule would apply to the offensive player in an offensive pass interference situation.
Reply With Quote