Andrew,
I reread it and it does say "such motion" which I guess refers back to the previous mention in the sentence. Right?
If so, then a back could position himself 20 yards behind the LOS and begin motion towards B's goal line. As long as he didn't appear to be false starting and if he turned and ran parallel with the line (say 5 yards behind his LOS) at the time of the snap, this would be legal?
Sounds weird to me.
I guess the question on the rule is whether the "such motion" clause refers to "at the time of snap" or anytime during his motion. My take would be anytime he is in motion he can't run towards B's goal line. That's the way I understand it.
Anyone else care to clarify?
|