The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by ump33 View Post
Assuming this is Try attempt, I am not 100% sure you are legal ...

After the shift to your "reverse swinging gate," it appears that you are no longer in scrimmage kick formation per 2-14-2a (you no longer have a “holder with a knee on the ground") or 2-14-2b (#15 does not appear to be 10 yards deep). .
Unless we start carrying yardsticks, determining exactly 10 yards will remain a judgment call (turf fields are easier).

Regardless, the exception in NF: 7-2-5 clearly states, "A player in the game under this exception must assume an initial positionon his LOS between the ends and he remains an INELIGIBLE forward-pass receiver during the DOWN unless the pass is touched by B."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
Unless we start carrying yardsticks, determining exactly 10 yards will remain a judgment call (turf fields are easier).

Regardless, the exception in NF: 7-2-5 clearly states, "A player in the game under this exception must assume an initial positionon his LOS between the ends and he remains an INELIGIBLE forward-pass receiver during the DOWN unless the pass is touched by B."
I do not disagree with the fact that the player in question remains ineligible, I am simply bringing up the point that the formation might be illegal.

As for the carrying a yardstick comment, do you apply that same philosophy to the 6 by 8 dimensions of the Free Blocking Zone? I think it is easy enough to visually differentiate when a player is in “shotgun” (5 – 7 yds) versus “punt” (10 yds) formation. If it is to close to call, apply the “When in Doubt philosophy” … he is 10 yds deep.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 110
Who is snapping the ball? Is 40 still the center?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdow View Post
Who is snapping the ball? Is 40 still the center?
Yes
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eligible? Refsmitty Football 3 Wed Sep 22, 2010 02:19pm
How do you identify eligible/ineligible recievers? Brandon Kincer Football 56 Sat May 16, 2009 07:15pm
Ineligible or Not? Simbio Football 4 Wed Sep 26, 2007 05:41pm
Eligible/Ineligible? WyMike Football 19 Fri Oct 22, 2004 03:43pm
Eligible or ineligible receiver Derock1986 Football 18 Thu Dec 05, 2002 03:04am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1